English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

12-27-2008

Williamsport, MD

3 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2008
  • Location: Williamsport, MD
  • Views: 37
  • Message 1 of 8

How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2008-12-27, 14:22 PM

I just received my new T500 laptop with integrated AT&T mobile broadband card.  There are no instructions (i.e. printed material, installation CDs, or on-screen messages) on how to activate this feature.  I currently use the AT&T service on my T61 laptop using a broadband modem card plugged in to the side of the computer.  This laptop came with an integrated Verizon mobile broadband card and every single time I boot up a message comes up asking if I want to activate / subscribe to the Verizon service.  No such message (for AT&T) comes up on my new T500.

 

Can anyone provide me with step-by-step instuctions on how to get set up and going?  Also, are there any AT&T broadband service users who can share any helpful tips in transferring an existing service from one computer to another?

 

Thanks in advance for any help!

Reply
Options

167 Posts

01-08-2008

Central Texas

242 Signins

1576 Page Views

  • Posts: 167
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2008
  • Location: Central Texas
  • Views: 1576
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2008-12-27, 15:27 PM

"Also, are there any AT&T broadband service users who can share any helpful tips in transferring an existing service from one computer to another?"

 

Just move the activated SIM card.  I have one activated SIM card that I move between a T60 and a T61 as required. Both of these machines have internal integrated Sierra cards, though. Have to remove the batteries while moving the SIM card.

 

As far as activating service on your new T500, you should be able to do that by calling AT&T Wireless. Two people in previous threads on this forum have gone that route.

 

Centex

 

Reply
Options

3 Posts

01-08-2009

Clearwater, FL

9 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2009
  • Location: Clearwater, FL
  • Views: 49
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2009-01-08, 5:26 AM
Let me know how successful you are.   I keep getting a message that the mobile broadband card cannot be found.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-27-2008

Williamsport, MD

3 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2008
  • Location: Williamsport, MD
  • Views: 37
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2009-01-12, 21:22 PM
I'm have yet to get set up yet, but at least the laptop recognizes the card now.  (A technician authorized under Lenovo warranty came by, and I believe he disconnected the card, reseated it, then reconnected.)  You will need to contact Lenovo Tech. Support.
Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-11-2009

New York

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2009
  • Location: New York
  • Views: 15
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2009-02-11, 3:26 AM
I am getting the same error message..."no braadband card detected"  Is it possible to fix this problem without calling the lenovo guys?
Reply
Options

289 Posts

11-28-2007

US

412 Signins

9231 Page Views

  • Posts: 289
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9231
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2009-02-11, 14:06 PM

Try going into the BIOS (F1 when system first starts) and load the BIOS defaults (F9) and save (F10).

 

If the card was added after factory assembly, the card may not be recognized.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-11-2009

New York

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2009
  • Location: New York
  • Views: 15
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2009-02-11, 14:13 PM
Thanks, will give it a try.  Would this affect any of my loaded software or settings?
Reply
Options

289 Posts

11-28-2007

US

412 Signins

9231 Page Views

  • Posts: 289
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9231
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: How do I Activate (Integrated) AT&T Mobile Broadband Card on T500?

2009-02-12, 15:20 PM
Only if you had tweaked anything in BIOS, even then you should be fine.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete