English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

85 Posts

09-20-2010

IT

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 85
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 830
  • Message 1 of 12

How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-09, 23:25 PM

Hi, this might be a stupid question but I'm simply confused.

 

I have a T510 that should have 4GB of RAM since that's what I paid for, here are the specs I got:

 

Instead this is what I have, the sticker says 2GB not 4GB, however when I go to system info. this is what it says..The FRU number is 55Y3713

 

Any help is appreciated thanks! 

 

 

Reply
Options

10717 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39414 Signins

409197 Page Views

  • Posts: 10717
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 409197
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 0:05 AM
That slot is the lower one. There is another under the keyboard. The best way to see how much memory you have is toi hit F1 at startup to get to the BIOS screen.

Rich


To help with forum searches, check this out: https:/forums.lenovo.com/t5/Welcome-FAQs/Using-Browser-Search-to-find-your-answers-in-Lenovo-and-Moto-Community/m-p/5016916

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

85 Posts

09-20-2010

IT

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 85
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 830
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 2:33 AM

Under the keyboard? 

Reply
Options

10717 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39414 Signins

409197 Page Views

  • Posts: 10717
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 409197
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 2:37 AM
Yes. On top of the motherboard. The one you can see from the slot cover is under the motherboard

Rich


To help with forum searches, check this out: https:/forums.lenovo.com/t5/Welcome-FAQs/Using-Browser-Search-to-find-your-answers-in-Lenovo-and-Moto-Community/m-p/5016916

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

85 Posts

09-20-2010

IT

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 85
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 830
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 2:39 AM
So I'd have to remove the keyboard to get to it?
Reply
Options

85 Posts

09-20-2010

IT

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 85
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 830
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 2:44 AM
Yeah it says I have 4GB in the BIOS
Reply
Options

10717 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39414 Signins

409197 Page Views

  • Posts: 10717
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 409197
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 3:55 AM
Then, you have two 2gb sticks, a common configuration

Rich


To help with forum searches, check this out: https:/forums.lenovo.com/t5/Welcome-FAQs/Using-Browser-Search-to-find-your-answers-in-Lenovo-and-Moto-Community/m-p/5016916

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

163 Posts

07-02-2011

USA

950 Signins

2954 Page Views

  • Posts: 163
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 2954
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 5:49 AM

Your specs show that you were supposed to get a 64-bit version of Windows...yet the screenshot shows a 32-bit. Depending on the system configuration, this may impact your ability to use all 4GB of RAM.

 

What happened?

Reply
Options

2226 Posts

01-02-2011

US

8339 Signins

51747 Page Views

  • Posts: 2226
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 51747
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 7:54 AM

Unless you specifically requested a 32bit windows version, you really should get a 64bit, your spec sheet does say it comes with 64bit, but your system info clearly says you have 32bit windows, so you can't use all of your RAM. 

 

 

 

 

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Reply
Options

85 Posts

09-20-2010

IT

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 85
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 830
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: How much RAM do I actually have?

2011-12-10, 18:13 PM
Sorry I forgot to mention to disregard the fact I should have Win 7 64-bit instead of 32-bit..

In case you're wondering I got my OS downgraded to 32-bit when I sent my laptop for a "repair". They were supposed to fix the infamous whine noise. They ended up replacing my hard drive and motherboard to only have the noise move from the left to the center of my laptop.

Anyways thanks guys :)
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save