cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
kwk1
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: CA
Views: 1,493
Message 1 of 4

How much ram for T480 to maximize uhd 620?

I have a W520 now with 8gb ram, and a Quattro 1000 w/2gb graphic memory.

My system ram is usually under 5gb usage, and I don't do a lot as far as video goes.

Only youtube, and I am hooked up to a 1920x1200 monitor most of the time.

For a T480, Is 8gb of ram sufficient, or would 16 make better use of the graphics card?

W-520, i7-2760QM, 8gb, quadro 1000, FHD, 500gb/7200rpm, WIN7PRO
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 1,460
Message 2 of 4

Re: How much ram for T480 to maximize uhd 620?

A lesson from the 1960s that's just as valid today: You can never have too much RAM.

 

If in doubt, go with 16GB now. And if possible, get a single 16GB SO-DIMM rather than 2x 8GB so you can add a second 16GB later.

 

If you keep the T480 as long as the W520 you'll be glad you overconfigured from the get-go.

 

Incidentally sometimes Lenovo's pricing for more than base-level RAM is so high that it's cheaper to buy upgrades from a reputable after market supplier like Crucial. For example, Lenovo's price for upgrading from 8GB to 16GB may be almost as much, if not more, than the cost of a 16GB SO-DIMM from Crucial. The benefit to you is you can keep the original 8GB and add the 16GB for a total of 24GB without spending [much] more money. Doing this doesn't affect Lenovo's warranty either.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
kwk1
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: CA
Views: 1,429
Message 3 of 4

Re: How much ram for T480 to maximize uhd 620?

Thanks for your reply hausman.
The W520 has an i7-2760QM quad core I believe, do you think the new quad core i5 would be as good or better? The other thing is the W has a 7200 rpm disc drive, and I will either get a 256 or 512 ssd. I'm basically trying to find out what config I need to get to have the same, or better performance out of a T480. Thanks

W-520, i7-2760QM, 8gb, quadro 1000, FHD, 500gb/7200rpm, WIN7PRO
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 1,383
Message 4 of 4

Re: How much ram for T480 to maximize uhd 620?

The W520 has an i7-2760QM quad core I believe, do you think the new quad core i5 would be as good or better? 

 

No idea. You could compare CPU benchmark speeds. That info is readily available by Google search. But those results don't account for other system architecture improvements, including better GPUs, faster RAM and busses, etc.

 

The other thing is the W has a 7200 rpm disc drive, and I will either get a 256 or 512 ssd.

 

An SSD in the W520 will make a very noticeable improvement in system speed. That alone might be enough to let you delay the upgrade to a T480.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors