Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

18 Posts

10-09-2008

Ithaca, NY

54 Signins

375 Page Views

• Views: 375
  • Message 1 of 4

How to Switch from Speakers to Headphones?

2008-11-06, 18:51 PM

I have a new T400 and I'm trying to use some headphones, but I'm a noob to Vista and recent mobile platforms.  I thought if I plugged it in, it would automatically switch off the onboard speakers and use the headphones.  Instead, the speakers continue to play.  I am able to successfully play the test tones on the headphones via right clicking them as listed through one of the sound control panels.  I can't even figure out how to switch to headphones manually.  I can't seem to find any special control programs for my audio device, which I guess is some integrated Intel chip.

So, how can I switch to headphones and back to speaker either manually, or preferably, automatically?

Options

18 Posts

10-09-2008

Ithaca, NY

54 Signins

375 Page Views

• Views: 375
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: How to Switch from Speakers to Headphones?

2008-11-08, 14:00 PM

So, I switched the default sound device from speakers to headphones.  Now, if my headphones are plugged in, they are used instead of speakers.  But I have to restart any sound application like WMP for it to switch to the newly plugged-in headphones, else they continue to play through the speakers - and vice versa for when I unplug them in favor of the speakers.  I also noticed that if I unplugged my headphones while playing music in WMP, playback stops and I cannot resume it either through speakers or headphones again - I have to exit.