cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jmtluo
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2017
Location: TW
Views: 1,165
Message 1 of 6

How to disable hyper-threading in T470p

Hi,

 

I have a T470p bought at 04/2017. Now, I want to disable i7-7700HQ CPU's hyper-threading feature. How do I do it ?

I cannot find the option DISABLE Hyper-Threading in BIOS. The BIOS version is 1.12.

 

Thanks.

 

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,834
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 1,102
Message 2 of 6

Re: How to disable hyper-threading in T470p

There is no option in BIOS to disable that CPU feature.

Mike1800
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-28-2018
Location: US
Views: 499
Message 3 of 6

Re: How to disable hyper-threading in T470p

Not through the BIOS, ok. Is there another way? I use MATLAB and do a lot of floating point operations. It would double the performance for me.

aUserHasNoName
802.11n
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Location: DE
Views: 466
Message 4 of 6

Re: How to disable hyper-threading in T470p

 

If you use windows than  you could try to limit the number of processors  used by Windows OS. Set it to number of physical cores. I think the scheduler prefers to distribute work to physical cores first.

 

System Configuration -> Boot -> Advanced Options    

and restart system.

 

check with coreinfo  from sysinternals if OS use single thread per core.

 

Maybe run coreinfo first before changing this, so see the difference. 

Mike1800
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-28-2018
Location: US
Views: 455
Message 5 of 6

Re: How to disable hyper-threading in T470p

I tried that but it chooses to do 2 CPUs with 2 cores instead of 4 CPUs

 

aUserHasNoName
802.11n
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎06-26-2016
Location: DE
Views: 445
Message 6 of 6

Re: How to disable hyper-threading in T470p

too bad,  it seems like windows just picks the first 4 logical cpus  and not the physical cpus first.

I'm quite surprised, that Lenovo's BIOS don't have the option to disable HT. 

 

I guess  'start /affinity  <mask>  <path/program.exe> '   is the only chance to distribbute load  across cores by
selecting only odd or even numbered cpus. See 'help start'   in cmd.exe  not powershell.
You can also assign cpu affinity to already running program with taskmanager.

 

But I don't know if the affinity mask is also applied  to tasks/processes executed by matlab to run calculations.



Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors