cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
dragon968
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Location: usa
Views: 1,695
Message 1 of 6

How to partition HD in order to load the rescue and recovery backup

HI All,

 

Can anyone tell me how to properly partition the HD in order for the Blue Button(thinkVantage) to work again?

 

Does it matter in the order how you create the partition...? (I create one partition then separate them via Partition Manager)

I load the image back via Norton Ghost v10... but the Rescue and Recovery section is not responding... I remember the section is created as (EISA system) as it is reported by Disk Manger (not extended or logical type)

 

Please help here...

 

thanks

 

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 1,184
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Iowa, USA
Views: 1,685
Message 2 of 6

Re: How to partition HD in order to load the rescue and recovery backup

Don't bother the partition or it will not work.

You probably need to fix the MBR with this.

______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 7,135
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,648
Message 3 of 6

Re: How to partition HD in order to load the rescue and recovery backup

I'd like to know if this works for you.  I've tried he MBR repair utility on my T61 and T400 with both Vista and XP Pro without success.  It usually made things worse.  In one case, I couldn't boot windows after running it.

 

So far, the only image save and restore or clone software I've found that works with the TP setup is to use Lenovo's rescue and recovery software.  It is the only utility that saves the "magic" stuff in track 0 outside the MBR that is used by the "think" button to boot the service partition. 

 

One work-around that I have used successfully when I had an Acronis image but no R&R image is to do a full restore to factory using the factory recovery media (from Lenovo or home made on the TP) and then restoring only the windows partition from the non-Lenovo image.  This should leave the service partition, the MBR, and track 0 in the Lenovo mystery mode, and let the think button work, and you get your cloned up-to-date OS.

 

YMMV,

Z. 


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Türkçe    Moto English

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 1,184
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Iowa, USA
Views: 1,633
Message 4 of 6

Re: How to partition HD in order to load the rescue and recovery backup


zoltanthegypsy wrote:

 

One work-around that I have used successfully when I had an Acronis image but no R&R image is to do a full restore to factory using the factory recovery media (from Lenovo or home made on the TP) and then restoring only the windows partition from the non-Lenovo image.  This should leave the service partition, the MBR, and track 0 in the Lenovo mystery mode, and let the think button work, and you get your cloned up-to-date OS.

 

YMMV,

Z. 


That should work fine.

______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 7,135
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,624
Message 5 of 6

Re: How to partition HD in order to load the rescue and recovery backup


One work-around that I have used successfully when I had an Acronis image but no R&R image is to do a full restore to factory using the factory recovery media (from Lenovo or home made on the TP) and then restoring only the windows partition from the non-Lenovo image.  This should leave the service partition, the MBR, and track 0 in the Lenovo mystery mode, and let the think button work, and you get your cloned up-to-date OS.

I should add that in one of my experiments w/multi-booting and fiddling partitions, after using this procedure with Vista on my T400, vista wouldn't boot. It required a bootable vista DVD to run the vista boot repair procedure (twice).  After that, "think" and vista booted as expected.  I don't know of any way to do that with Lenovo install media.  If no MS Vista DVD is available, there are stripped down versions with the repair stuff only floating around the web.  The usual precautions re downloads apply.  There may be manual ways to repair the vista boot stuff that I haven't found yet.

 

I can't say with certainty that this will always be necessary.  I may have screwed something up during the two step restore process.

The magic "think" button is (potentially) pretty useful, but it and the "new improved" vista boot process are a little too fragile, IMNSHO.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Türkçe    Moto English

dragon968
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Location: usa
Views: 1,366
Message 6 of 6

Re: How to partition HD in order to load the rescue and recovery backup

Hi All,

 

somehow I did it... I forgot to document it, but I remember it somehow I didn't do any partition? and run the Notron ghost again.. ...Now I have a same problem coming up at my T61. so this time I will keep notes ...

 

will give update in a week or 2.

 

thanks

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors