cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
enforcer
Punch Card
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Location: Seattle WA
Views: 1,013
Message 1 of 7

Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

This is not the first thing I wanted to do on my new T420 but here goes..... After spending the better part of the evening at the UPS customer center waiting for my shiny new Thinkpad I finally received it, got home, fired it up and..... sigh..... Intel(R) HD Graphics Family.... Not what I ordered. I ordered this with the discreet Nvidia NVS Quadro 4200M. This is not the service I've come to expect from the Think team. And now its late, and I can't even open up a case on this. UGH. Anyone else run into this issue? Anyone know how to get this taken care of promptly? Don't get me wrong, I love my R60, and it will probably run forever. But its just time for a new laptop and I don't care to wait any longer. In the meantime I'm going to try to load the Nvidia Control Panel (oh yeah, laughably the software HAS been installed) and instead just stare at the message "An NVIDIA graphics card was not detected in your system".........sigh 

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 1,011
Message 2 of 7

Re: Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

check under the bios menu's display option is there the discrete, integrated, etc gpu option?

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,006
Message 3 of 7

Re: Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

Does the NVS4200M show up in Device Manager?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
enforcer
Punch Card
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Location: Seattle WA
Views: 988
Message 4 of 7

Re: Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

No def not. I've not checked in the bios but it seems quite odd that they would include a beefy integrated vid card with 2gb ram if they were going to add a dedicated card on top. I'm not sure how the architecture is suppose to be in this configuration so it is entirely possible. Check when I get home.
lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 980
Message 5 of 7

Re: Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

the machine that includes the nvidia gpu also have the integrated gpu. this is the architecture.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
punchinello
Token Ring
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
Views: 967
Message 6 of 7

Re: Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

Well, keep calm. It just seems like an misunderstanding.

First give us some more info about your ThinkPad like the type. You can find the model on the sticker on the backside of your ThinkPad or by pressing the Blue ThinkVantage Button and directly under the headline of the new window.

 

After that we will see whether your model should have a discrete graohics adapter or not.

Lenovo X220 (Model: 4290-G51) | Intel Core i7 2460M | Intel HD 3000 | 2 x 8 GB CORSAIR DDR3-1333 RAM | 256GB SAMSUNG 840 Basic SSD | 9-Cell orig. Lenovo Battery 29++ (FRU: 42T4942, LGC) | BIOS V1.29 | Power Manager V6.65.1 | Power Management Driver V1.67.04.05 | Windows 7 Professional 64Bit (up-to-date)
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 954
Message 7 of 7

Re: Intel HD Graphics Family!!?? Thats not what I ordered!!!!!!!

See this:
http://www.nvidia.com/content/optimus_technology/optimus_technology_popup.html

Go into BIOS by pressing F1 at the ThinkPad POST screen > Config > Display. You should see a switchable graphics option here. Make sure it is set to Optimus.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors