Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-23-2011
Location: Quilpue, Chile
Message 1 of 10 (1,063 Views)

Keyborad layout in new models

Hi:

I've noticed that in new models (T410 and so on) there's a change in the keyboard layout, so now there's a double sized "Supr." key instead of the "Insert/Supr." keys.

Is there an option keyboard with the old layout?

I've a T400 which I'm thinking to replace but I can't use that new keyboard configuration (after years using the old layout is just to hard for my "fingers" to change, since my very old T23, I'vent changed to any other brand because of the keyboard!) I've tested it on a T410 and I made too many typos because of it.

 

Thanks

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,272
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 2 of 10 (1,029 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

no there is only one keyboard layout offered, which is the one you got now.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
802.11n
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎08-13-2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Message 3 of 10 (1,016 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

http://pics.bbzzdd.com/users/Corky-G/T510KB.jpg This is a T510 keyboard - which key are you talking about?
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-23-2011
Location: Quilpue, Chile
Message 4 of 10 (991 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

I can't dsee the imae

The Supr./Delete key it's now using the space where before was the Insert/Supress (Delete) key (upper - right)

 http://www.dell-laptop-battery.com/images/IBM_T400_Keyboard.jpg

http://static.techspot.com/articles-info/262/images/11b.jpg

 

802.11n
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎08-13-2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Message 5 of 10 (984 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

The first image is so small the key names don't show. However, the second image is exactly the same as mine. The DELETE key is double size. The Insert key is directly above F12. To its left, the BREAK key is a combo with Fn. I have never seen a Supr key. I just checked my old T60, and it has Insert above Delete. To left is Pause and Fn combo for break. No such key as Supr.
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-23-2011
Location: Quilpue, Chile
Message 6 of 10 (981 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

Yep, sorry.

Supr. = Suprimir = Delete in Spanish.

 

802.11n
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎08-13-2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Message 7 of 10 (974 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

Got it! Yes - that is a change. My old T60 has the two keys as you prefer - Inseert above Delete. To see this image you may have to copy and paste the URL into your browser's address line This is the T60 keyboard: http://pics.bbzzdd.com/users/Corky-G/T60KB.jpg
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Location: usa
Message 8 of 10 (484 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

In the Ideapad P500  the hotkeys change volume, screen brightness etc.   This is backwards from the usual standard of pressing Fn + F (hotkey) to affect changes  Is it possble to change the hotkeys to work only when the Fn key is pressed? Many programs us the F() keys for routine tasks e.g. F7 to spell check in MS Office

 

Hotkeys are a huge negative for me.   In one of my programs I use the F1 to F8 keys three or four times a minute and it is very inconvenient not to have use of these keys.  I may change the screen brighness or volume 2 or 3 times a month, how necessary is it to have such minor functions available when many more important ones are unavailable? 

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 9 of 10 (476 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

@jaarch,
It should be available as a toggle in BIOS.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Location: usa
Message 10 of 10 (445 Views)

Re: Keyborad layout in new models

Thanks for your reply.  With windows 8 the BIOS is replaced with a UEFI with added security that  prevents malware changes to the bios on bootup and generally speeds up the boot and resume from hibernation.  Is it possible to make changes to the UEFI?

top kudoed authors