cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
dodger_NL
Token Ring
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-09-2012
Location: Netherlands
Views: 1,919
Message 21 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

Just running Windows alone creates a lot of overhead which reduces system performance.

What I did, was turn off al graphical features, turn off Bluetooth and WLAN, turn of your sound and  microphone and make sure that there aren't any unnecessary programs running in the background.

In order to turn of the graphical nonsense in Windows:
go to your control panel--> system and security --> advanced system settings-->  click on the advanced tab -->  then turn of all visual effects by selecting best  performance mode.

This will get rid of part of the overhead created by Windows.

Then the key is to run the test a couple of times, and see what you're results are, since it isn't the best benchmark for assessing Max memory bandwidth.

A more accurate test is that of Sisoftware: Sandra the bandwidth performance test is actually quite good.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thinkpad® T430 | Intel® Core™ i7-3520M | 8GB HyperX PnP DDR3-2133MHz | Nvidia® NVS™ 5400M | 256GB Plextor® M5 Pro
Burz
Punch Card
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,910
Message 22 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

[quote]In order to turn of the graphical nonsense in Windows:

go to your control panel--> system and security --> advanced system settings-->  click on the advanced tab -->  then turn of all visual effects by selecting best  performance mode.[/quote]

 

In Windows 7 the path is CP > system and security > system > advanced system settings > advanced.

 

(I can't get the stats from "winsat mem" because it is malfunctioning (system is only a couple days old). When I run it from the command prompt, it opens another console window and quickly prints some stuff and exits (closing the window it opened). But that's moot since I haven't changed RAM or other hardware from the stock 4GB. Its just disturbing that my factory Windows install doesn't work right.)

 

My concern for this thread is that something is causing the T430s to run the 2133MHz RAM more slowly than on your T430. Or am I wrong and jdgw's memory speed correct for 2133MHz RAM...? So 1065 is correct and DDR multiplies that X2 ?

 

Then why does his hwinfo show that the RAM can support higher speeds? I thought 2133MHz was just about the highest speed supported by DDR3.

 

I'd love to add some high performance RAM to my T430s, but I'm confused and don't want to waste money on speeds that aren't supported. I have this suspicion that if I put 2133MHz RAM into my system, it won't run any faster than 1866MHz RAM that is considerably less expensive.

 

Thanks...

 

Burz
Punch Card
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,908
Message 23 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12


@jdgw wrote:

Installed the Kingston PnP SoDimm 2133 MHz memory (4Gb x2) in my i5-3320M, intel graphics, 128 SSD, T430s with no issues.  The WEI was approx. 5.2 and went to 6..5 with Win 7 64 set for max performance.

The data transfer rate went from around 10 Gb/s to 17.6 Gb/s.  Hardware Info reports that the memory speed is actually running at 1065.2 Mhz and the max speed capable is shown as 1300 Mhz. 


Can you give us a screenshot of hwinfo?

jdgw
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-15-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 1,894
Message 24 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

Burz, under start > açcessories , right click on the command prompt and select "run as administrator" . Then run winsat mem and the command prompt window will stay open. Will post screenshot shortly - currently on tablet.
Burz
Punch Card
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,889
Message 25 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

I look forward to that screenshot. Smiley Happy Referencing this DDR3 table, I am trying to figure out why you and dodger_NL are getting the speeds you both are reporting. Your 17GB/sec rate seems to match PC3-17000, but that would not account for dual-channel mode which should push the throughput even higher.

Highlighted
jdgw
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-15-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 1,873
Message 26 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

The numbers from that DDR3 table seem to match with my numbers.  It appears that the 1066 MHz gets multiplied by 2 for the dual channel to get the 2133 MHz naming.  Also, if you use dodger_NL's speed calculations you get close to my actual number ( 1065.2 x 2 x 8 = 17,043 GB/s ) with max being the 21.3 GB/s at 1333 MHz.  In any case, I noticed a speed improvement when doing some heavy number crunching but for everyday tasks (surfing, word, excel etc..) you probably wouldn't notice any speed change.  It seems that the 1833 MHz memory is actually going to run at 916.5 MHz on dual channel.  Let us know what you get if and when you do your upgrade.

 

Here are my screenshots (getting a little more oomph today!):

 

HWinfo_T430s_130129.png

 

Winsat_mem_T430s_130129.png

 

 

WEI_T430s_130129.png 

 

Burz
Punch Card
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,856
Message 27 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

Interesting. Hwinfo says the RAM is PC3-16000 not 17000. This may be due to the timing section (CAS 12 etc). But your RAM is working close to the ideal speed.

 

BTW, double data rate and dual channel are two separate things. The former doubles the potential of any single RAM module, while the latter can potentially double two RAM modules of any supported type. Its best to have both these features at once, of course.

 

Now as for the missing 12GB/sec of throughput--

 

 

dodger_NL: Was that 29GB/sec result from a different computer? Perhaps of a desktop system with triple or quad channel RAM? Can you post a hwinfo screen shot, too?

 

Thanks for all your input so far...

 

Burz
Punch Card
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,823
Message 28 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

FWIW, I've checked around the web and it seems that winsat isn't a good measure.

 

The only examples I've seen of people getting 29GB/sec or more are (using Sisoft Sandra benchmark) on desktop systems with triple and quad channel memory.

 

jdgw
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-15-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 1,804
Message 29 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

Here's a screenshot of the SiSoft Sandra run....

 

SiSoft Ranker.png

Burz
Punch Card
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,789
Message 30 of 30

Re: Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8GB Kit 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-1700 Non-ECC CL12

That's a great result! Its so different from the winsat score.

 

Maybe dodger_NL will post his Sandra result...

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors