Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
achronis
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 1,454
Message 1 of 9

Lenovo t480s (20L7) black screen after lock/hibernate

Hi forums,

I am an IT professional supporting a business laptop refresh from older Dells to Lenovo t480s (20L7) laptops. For Bitlocker best practices and per our InfoSec team's directives we set our computers to hibernate whenever they would otherwise sleep. 

We have noticed that several freshly imaged computers, with all Lenovo System Update drivers installed, and with the SCCM driver package from the Lenovo site installed, will show a black screen after resuming from hibernate. The laptop backlight and Function key lights are on, the power button is lit up, and the fan does spin, but the screen is black, no backlight, and the laptop is totally unresponsive until a hard reboot (hold the power button). Interestingly, the system cannot be pinged or remoted into while in this state, and opening/closing the lid has no effect. 

Has anyone seen anything similar to this, or know what might be the cause? 

Thank you in advance.

Lenovo Employee Rydeen
Lenovo Employee
Views: 1,398
Message 2 of 9

Re: Lenovo t480s (20L7) black screen after lock/hibernate

Dear customer,

In order to understand the system environment, I'd like to know below information.

- Windows version?:

- BIOS version?:

- Do you apply company specific BIOS settings?

- Symptom will change when perform "load default" at BIOS Setup?

- Video Driver version?:

- SCCM package name your IT team selected to deploy?:

nekingll1919
Paper Tape
Views: 1,388
Message 3 of 9

I have the same issue with my t450s for a long time.

after hibernate,laptop was awake as keyboard lights on,cpu's fan is on,fingerreader is on ,I can hear the login windows sound by using fingerprint.But the screen is black. no dispaly.

Sometimes screen goes back when I push it to 180 degaree:flat screen. Now this trick doesn't work.Have to do a hard restart.

Windows 10

no specific BIOS settings