English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

12-17-2009

London, UK

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎12-17-2009
  • Location: London, UK
  • Views: 18
  • Message 1 of 4

Mobile broadband SIM

2009-12-17, 20:44 PM

Hello,

 

I purchased a T400s in the UK which came with a Vodafone SIM inside it for mobile broadband. However, due to some error, this SIM never was activated and I can't use it.

 

I'm wondering if I can purchase a mobile broadband SIM from T-Mobile (or indeed anyone else) and use it with integrated SIM component of the laptop - does anyone know if this would work just fine, or would any hardware or software modifications be required? (I have a clean install of Windows 7 on the laptop.)

 

Thanks for any input,

 

/vijayan

Reply
Options

305 Posts

12-01-2009

Czech Republic

378 Signins

2497 Page Views

  • Posts: 305
  • Registered: ‎12-01-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 2497
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Mobile broadband SIM

2009-12-18, 7:17 AM
Will work, if you will have SIm card with 3G activated. If you have model F3507g, then this is Erricson hardware and if you are not fun of Access Connections tool of Lenovo (i do not use this tool), then i can recommend you simple tool directly from Ericsson http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/support/mobilebroadband/download/wirelessmanager/gc83?lc=en&cc=us
----------------------------------------------------
Lenovo T440s, 20AQ0067MC, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 UEFI, Samsung 840 EVO SSD 250 GB, 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T430s, 2356LQG, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 UEFI, Intel 520 SSD 180 GB, 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T420s, 4171-6SG, Windows 8 Pro x64 UEFI, Intel 320 SSD 120 GB, 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T400s, 2808-CYG, Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply
Options

2 Posts

12-17-2009

London, UK

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎12-17-2009
  • Location: London, UK
  • Views: 18
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Mobile broadband SIM

2009-12-18, 9:57 AM

Thanks for the great response, pleon - much appreciated!

 

The SE software page doesn't mention Windows 7, and the requirements include a 32-bit processor, but I'll give this a go since it has worked for you.

 

Thanks,

/v

Reply
Options

305 Posts

12-01-2009

Czech Republic

378 Signins

2497 Page Views

  • Posts: 305
  • Registered: ‎12-01-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 2497
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Mobile broadband SIM

2009-12-18, 14:01 PM
I have test it on my T400s with Windows 7 64bit and it worked.
----------------------------------------------------
Lenovo T440s, 20AQ0067MC, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 UEFI, Samsung 840 EVO SSD 250 GB, 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T430s, 2356LQG, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 UEFI, Intel 520 SSD 180 GB, 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T420s, 4171-6SG, Windows 8 Pro x64 UEFI, Intel 320 SSD 120 GB, 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T400s, 2808-CYG, Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save