cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
sheapuppy
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 216
Message 1 of 11

No display on ThinkPad T500

I have an old ThinkPad T500 that I was planning to give to my younger brother so he can do school work.  Running Windows Vista Ultimate.  A few months back, the internal display was acting intermittently, meaning it would not display anything (dark screen) but if you connected an external monitor, it would work fine.  After a second or third reboot, the internal display would come on.

 

This morning I turned it on and the monitor had parallel color lines in various patterns.  I can hear the laptop running and booting up.   After a couple of minutes, I plugged in an external monitor - nothing.  I rebooted the machine and the same color pattern was displaying on the internal display.  This time, the external monitor came on and booted up in 800 x 600 mode.  When I went into Device Manager > Display it shows "Standard VGA Adapter".  I recall that this laptop comes with switchable graphics between the Intel GMA 4500MHD and ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 (256 MB).  Is the video card bad or is it just the actual display?

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 212
Message 2 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T500

Welcome to the forum!

 


@sheapuppy wrote:

Is the video card bad or is it just the actual display?


It could be both, difficult to say without having the actual ThinkPad at hand.

 

I don't remember by heart the BIOS settings in the T500, but please try going to the BIOS (press F1 right after turning on the laptop) and go to "Config" and "Display", select only the integrated graph, save and reboot.  Keep us posted how it goes...

 

Hopefully that would fix the screen problems...

 

.

 

 

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
sheapuppy
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 208
Message 3 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T500

Thanks for the tip.  I don't have the laptop with me at the moment (at work).  I'll do that and let you know.

sheapuppy
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 179
Message 4 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T500

Well after playing with the laptop for over 3 hours today, I'm still not sure if both the display and/or the graphics card are bad.  When I try to install the NVIDIA driver, it appears to install successfully.  However, when the laptop boots up, it always hangs up at the 'Starting Windows' screen.  And still the screen is dark, so I'm not sure if it's worth salvaging the laptop.

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 175
Message 5 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T500


@sheapuppy wrote:

When I try to install the NVIDIA driver, it appears to install successfully.  However, when the laptop boots up, it always hangs up at the 'Starting Windows' screen.


You mean ATI drivers? Or really nVidia? T500 models came with Intel only graphics or with ATI/Intel Switchable graphs

 

Try booting a Linux Distro like Ubuntu or Mint out of a USB or optical drive, just to see how the screen behaves, independently of any Windows drivers that maybe installed.

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
sheapuppy
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 165
Message 6 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T500

Thanks! Another great idea! I'll download it and try it!

sheapuppy
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 159
Message 7 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T61

After double checking the laptop, this is a T61, not a T500, with a 15.4" widescreen 16x10 display.  After reading some reviews online, I think it's got the infamous nVidia 140M issue (i.e. defective rate much greater than anticipated)! That said, I have switched the video settings in the BIOS to use the integrated vs PCI Express and viceversa.  In either case, the display does not come on, but the VGA port does output to an external display.  I'll try installing Live CD or Ubuntu later tonight.

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 131
Message 8 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T61


@sheapuppy wrote:

After double checking the laptop, this is a T61, not a T500, with a 15.4" widescreen 16x10 display.  After reading some reviews online, I think it's got the infamous nVidia 140M issue


The infamous nVidia bug! In this case I'm afraid there is little what can be done apart from swapping the motherboard to an Intel only model... 

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
sheapuppy
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 124
Message 9 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T61

Iv heard that you can remove the mb and “bake” it to fix this issue.  How successful is that option?

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 112
Message 10 of 11

Re: No display on ThinkPad T61

Unfortunately that's no solution, the nVidia bug was a chip design problem.

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors