cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
yasirash
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: Baghdad
Views: 3,752
Message 1 of 10

On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Dears.

I've recently purchased Lenovo T410 (2537)  with windows 7Home Basic 32bit preinstalled. I've then switched to Windows 7 Pro 64 with new clean installation. I've managed to do all the drivers and softwares installation again but I've faced a problem with "Hotkey features Integration" when try to install the On screen Display I got the following error message:"An error occurred while copying file mkrcfg.dll. Cannot copy file destination directory. ...",

My current thinkpad state is fine except for the following:

-No On screen display for volume, brightness, and light.

-Thinkvantage blue bottom does not do anything in windows

-thinkvantage blue bottom does open a different menu on prewindows boot, not the original recovery program

 

Is these symptoms appears because I couldn't install the Hotkey program, or they are related to different issues?

If so, I'd like you to help me with this problem because I Like having all the original features and buttoms working yet with my new windows 7 Pro64.

Former Employee
Posts: 2,437
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
Location: Malaysia
Views: 3,672
Message 2 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

hey yasirash,

welcome to the forums.

for this , i suggest uninstalling all ThinkVantage software that is installed on your system then head over to >> http://support.lenovo.com ; download and reinstall all ThinkVantage software/drivers that was previously uninstalled.






WW Social Media
Important Note: If you need help, post your question in the forum, and include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!



Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!
Have you checked out the Community Knowledgebase yet?!
How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.
Guru
Posts: 2,527
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Location: DE
Views: 3,662
Message 3 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Deactivate UAC temporarily and start setup with right-click and "Run as Administrator"

--------------------------------
My home-forum: http://www.thinkpad-forum.de
Wiki: Deutsches ThinkPad-Wiki English ThinkWiki
My ThinkPad-Collection
Coffee must be like women's eyes: deep black & shiny. ThinkPads have to be like men's feet: deep black & matte!
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 7,603
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 3,660
Message 4 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

If you end up having to do the uninstall/reinstall, try installing ThinkVantage System Update first. It should download and install everything else.

 

For that matter, you could try just running TVSU first, without uninstalling.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Türkçe    Moto English

yasirash
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: Baghdad
Views: 3,613
Message 5 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Thanks mronsgrans for the answer but unfortunatly, It didn't work for me
yasirash
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: Baghdad
Views: 3,613
Message 6 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Many thanks. I'll try to do say so and inform you with the results.
yasirash
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: Baghdad
Views: 3,613
Message 7 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Same error appears when I'm using TVSU. I'll try to Uninstall/Install back again. Thanks
cheong2710
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2012
Location: hong kong
Views: 3,372
Message 8 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Hey I got the same problem, here is my solution, hope it helps.

 

I am using Thinkpad T400, Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

 

Go to  C:\DRIVERS\WIN\HOTKEY\OSD ,

 

copy the whole OSD folder to C:\Program Files\Lenovo,

 

and rename "OSD" to "Hotkey"

 

Now, you can install "Thinkpad Hotkeys Features Integration" and "On Screen Display"

 

Restart,

 

Done! Smiley Wink

 

Ethan

dantes666
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-28-2012
Location: Florida
Views: 2,894
Message 9 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Thanks Ethan! That fixed my issue on an x200 with Win 7 Ultimate!

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 444
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
Location: Raleigh, North carolina
Views: 2,886
Message 10 of 10

Re: On screen display and ThinkVantage blue Bottom problem

Hey Yasirash,

 

If the above suggestion doesn't work could you try to manually install the Hotkey features by following the link below:

 

          http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS014985

 

Best Regards,

 

Hiro

Did you find a post Awesome? A response just Outstanding? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a pat on the back for helping you out!

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors