Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
happysilvia
Fanfold Paper
Views: 3,352
Message 1 of 21

Overheating problem gets worse after I cleaned my fan

My T400 gets shut down from time to time so I decided to clean it before my big project comes. So I got the fan out following the maintainance manual and blowed it dry with a duster. However, after I put all the parts back together, it got worse: It cannot even run over 5 min using the adapter. When I use the battery, the CPU temperature is around 60 C. The CPU usage reaches to 100% and as I checked the progresses in task manager I don't see anything big running. Its my first time opening a laptop so I think I might did someting wrong when i assemble or disassemble it. Anybody can help me figure out where the problem can possibly is?

Highlighted
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 3,345
Message 2 of 21

Re: Overheating problem gets worse after I cleaned my fan

Hi happysilvia, and welcome,

Did you only remove the fan, or did you also remove the heatsink assembly from the CPU?  If you disturbed the heatsink to CPU contact, did you clean it and apply thermal compound?  If you disturbed the CPU to heatsink assembly connection without reapplying compound, that might explain your issues.

Others may/will have better suggestions, but I don't remove a fan to clean it.

Z.

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Moto English