cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ekert
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Views: 4,116
Message 1 of 9

RAM upgrade on T430s

Hello, I recently purchased a T430s with 4GB of RAM.  I would like to upgrade the RAM and almost purchased a 4GB PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) chip bringing the total to 8GB, but thought that maybe it would be nice to have more.  I don't want to purchase 2x8GB for a total of 16GB (don't want to remove the keyboard), but was wondering if I could purchase 1x8GB chip and use it with the existing 4GB for a total of 12GB?  If there are parity issues and won't be running optimally, then I'm fine just adding another 4GB for a total of 8.  Just thought I'd ask the experts, and thanks in advance for your help!

 

-Ekert

 

brian10852
Token Ring
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Location: NH
Views: 4,101
Message 2 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T431s

Hello ekert,

 

There is actually only one memory slot where you can install extra RAM. The other 4GB of RAM is actually soldered onto the motherboard and cannot be removed. To answer your question, yes, you can use that 8GB memory module with the existing 4GB one.

My Thinkpads: T42 (GPU failure), T60, W530
W530: Windows 7 Pro | i7-3720qm | FHD screen | 256gb Samsung 840 Pro SSD | 500GB Ultrabay HDD | 16gb Crucial RAM | Nvidia K1000m
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,262
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 4,088
Message 3 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T431s

The above answer is not true. There are 2 slots - 1 under the keyboard and one in the back. 16GB (2X8) works fine

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
ekert
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Views: 4,085
Message 4 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T431s

It's hard to find the correct information, but I'm assuming that the configuration is like the T430 where there is one slot under the keyboard and one in the back.  I only want to add one to the back and was wondering if it is possible to add 1x8GB for a total of 12GB, or if they must be paired (2x4 or 2x8).  Thanks again!

 

-Ekert

 

brian10852
Token Ring
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Location: NH
Views: 4,071
Message 5 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T431s

That is odd. The hardware manual and service videos only show one DIMM slot on the bottom of the computer for the T431s, and there doesn't seem to be videos or pictures of another slot under the keyboard. Crucial's website also shows only a single slot available: Link. Are there any other people that could possibly chime in?

My Thinkpads: T42 (GPU failure), T60, W530
W530: Windows 7 Pro | i7-3720qm | FHD screen | 256gb Samsung 840 Pro SSD | 500GB Ultrabay HDD | 16gb Crucial RAM | Nvidia K1000m
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,262
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 4,054
Message 6 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T431s

The hardware manual shows 2 slots for both the T430 and the T430s - 1 under the keyboard and 1 in the back. 12GB works fine. (1 X 4GB + 1 X 8GB)  The original post was talking about a T430s. The reply changed the title to T431s. T431s has 4GB soldered and 1 slot


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
ekert
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Views: 4,037
Message 7 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T430s

This was my bad, I originally posted the question asking about the T431s when in fact I purchased a T430s so I edited my post. I'm not the most tech savvy which is why I posted here for help, as I have been told that the RAM must be paired, and conversely I have been told that I can add an 8GB module to make it 12GB with no problems. I just wanted to get some professional advice before I purchase a chip that may not work, and neither google nor search have been of much help. Thanks again everybody, your help is sincerely appreciated.

-Ekert
Kaso
802.11n
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-10-2010
Location: Corona
Views: 4,026
Message 8 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T430s

>>> I purchased a T430s

The T430s has a RAM slot under the keyboard and a second RAM slot on the underside.

The GB capacities of two RAM sticks don't have to match. For example, 4GB + 8GB. The Intel memory controller does its magic to treat the pair as dual-channel.

When buying the second RAM stick, just remember: 204-Pin DDR3 1600.

brian10852
Token Ring
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Location: NH
Views: 4,015
Message 9 of 9

Re: RAM upgrade on T431s

Ah, I see now. I kept thinking that we were talking about the T431s, not the T430s. In this case, then yes, there will be 2 slots for RAM like others have said. As long as the RAM type is the same, you can still mix and match RAM sticks with different capacities or even different brands.

My Thinkpads: T42 (GPU failure), T60, W530
W530: Windows 7 Pro | i7-3720qm | FHD screen | 256gb Samsung 840 Pro SSD | 500GB Ultrabay HDD | 16gb Crucial RAM | Nvidia K1000m

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors