Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Location: Windsor, UK
0 Kudos

Recording audio from laptop with T420s and combo port

Hi All,

 

I sometimes need to run my companys application and record the spoken messages for demo's etc. Previously, I did this simply by playing the messages through the laptop speakers and at the same time using the Windows Sound Recorder to record it from the laptop microphone (I didn't even need to use external speakers or microphone).

 

Now, with the new T420s that I have, when I speak into the laptop microphone it records my voice fine but when I use an application to play messages through the laptop speakers, the recorder does not pick up an sounds......is this a result of this "combo" port........if so, is there any way round it ?

Guru
Posts: 8,986
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Recording audio from laptop with T420s and combo port

The audio chip will automatically remove played back audio to prevent feedback. You may be confusing it with stereo mix, which has now been phased out for... certain reasons.

What if you mix the track in Audacity?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Location: Windsor, UK
0 Kudos

Re: Recording audio from laptop with T420s and combo port

When I use audacity, it doesnt get any sound either......it seems like the fact that the application grabs the audio output port for the speakers and so the microphone cannot hear anything and thus nothing can be recorded.......this worked fine on my previous laptops that didnt have combo ports......

Highlighted
Guru
Posts: 8,986
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Recording audio from laptop with T420s and combo port

I meant what if you recorded just your voice, then added the audio from your demo after the fact?

The sound chip takes the microphone input, and subtracts the speakers sound. This is what is needed most of the time, but in your case, it seems to be the exact opposite. Not sure if this can be disabled in SmartAudio.

You'll probably need Virtual Audio Cable to record multiple streams.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen