cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 767
Message 1 of 10

Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

I have finally managed to install the Sierra Wireless 5720 but Device Manager gives a Error 10 so what do I do

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Views: 760
Message 2 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

Hi parmardilan,

 

Some folks with the same question have posted here: Fix Sierra Wireless MC5720 Device driver problem?

There is a link to "fix driver error" on that page as well that many folks have claims corrects the issue. Let me know if that works for you.

 

Best regards,

 

Ed

 

*Edit* the site is a Microsoft Gold Certified Partner site so it should have good information.

__________________________________________________

Was this or another post on the forum helpful? Click the star on the left side of the screen to give kudos! Did someone solve a problem you encountered? Mark it as "solution provided" to help others with the same problem.
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 729
Message 3 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

Ok I am trying it. I am a little skeptical
ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 722
Message 4 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

Yes as I had expected this software is a dud it wants you to purchase it. Ridiculous. I have the driver installed( the extraction of MSI and and adding under Device Manager) the Driver Detective gave me a green check thing for the Sierra Wireless Card and red x's on things that were fine. My main dispute now is the Device Manager error 10 on it

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 721
Message 5 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

Lenovo Access Connections has found it and created a Verizon Wireless Profile for it. When I attempt to go in to Location Settings I see that it is set for Mobile Broadband and has found the adapter. Next to the adapter it says disabled? What does that mean? The fn+f5 shows Wireless WAN but it is in powered off state and the LED is on. I cannot turn it "on" through the fn+f5
ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 700
Message 6 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

I believe I have found why Access Connections won't connect with the "disabled" message. fn+f5 shows that the card is off? How do I fix this the little LED is on what do I do?

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 694
Message 7 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

Ok so I have updated the Modem driver and now at least the VZAccess Manager sees it. (I also did the 20 pin mod in case) but now the ****ing VZAccess Manager after it find the device "device disabled" go figure I'm pretty lucky eh
ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 683
Message 8 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

So I have given up on VZAccess Manager and am using the Windows 7 dial up

this is what I am basing off of

Click Start, Connect To, Then select the 'Setup a connection or network' link.
Select 'Setup a dial-up connection'
Click the 'Sierra Wireless MC5725 Modem Device'
In the Dial-up phone number enter: #777
In User name enter your wireless number followed by @vzw3g.com. For example, if your number is 8235551212, enter 8235551212@vzw3g.com as the username.
Leave the password field blank.

Name the connection 'Verizon Broadband Access'
Check the 'Allow other people to use this connection' box.
Click Connect.

If you are in a Broadband access coverage area it will connect. Now you need to change the connection speed.

Click Start, Connect to, select the 'Open Network and Sharing Center' link.
Choose the 'Manage network connections' link on the left.
Right click on Verizon Broadband Access and choose disconnect.
Right click again on the connection and choose properties.
Under the General Tab select the Sierra Wireless device and click Configure.
Change the maximum speed to '921600'
Click OK on all dialog boxes and connect again.
ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
parmardilan
Token Ring
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
Views: 668
Message 9 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

I have solved it The fn+f5 works and access manager work sthe leds are correct PM for info if you have one
ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Views: 655
Message 10 of 10

Re: Sierra Wireless 5720 T500

parmardilan,

 

I'm happy you were able to fix this problem, even though it was on your own. It's also fantastic that you're offering your solution to others. I'm sorry I wasn't able to better assist you.

 

Cheers

 

Ed

__________________________________________________

Was this or another post on the forum helpful? Click the star on the left side of the screen to give kudos! Did someone solve a problem you encountered? Mark it as "solution provided" to help others with the same problem.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors