Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Location: USA
Message 11 of 22 (3,319 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

I've had the exact same problems as all of you have described.  I also found that BIOS 1.20 was the most "stable" but in the end I couldn't deal with the issues.  After looking on the Lenovo site I found that the 1-3-3-1 beep code can also be for motherboard problems.  After a very speedy call to tech support I sent in my laptop (under warranty) and they replaced the motherboard.  Since I've gotten it back it's just fine!  I would strongly recommend calling Lenovo up to have this fixed if you can't get memtest to show any errors (my runs never produced anything either, nor did the Lenovo system tests).

 

Oh, I'm using one 2GB stick that came with it and a 2GB I put in from Crucial with Vista Ultimate SP2 x64.

 

Good luck!

wowy

Highlighted
HDMI
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Message 12 of 22 (3,313 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

What fixed it for me was resetting the TPM after EVERY Bios update! Clear - Shut down, initialize, set password. I also disabled Intel TXT! No idea which of my two steps helped, but one did. I am not sure if it is really a motherboard error. It might be coincidence, cause a new motherboard will most likely require a fresh TPM install as well. Did the new board come with the latest bios?

Thinkpad T400 (Windows 7 Ultimate x64)
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Location: Singapore
Message 13 of 22 (3,265 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

Thanks for the heads up firaX! I went one step further to simply disable the whole TPM thingy since I don't really require it and so far, after some 3-4 days, resume from standby works flawlessly.

 

In fact, this also fixed my other issue with the machine resetting itself a few seconds after POST status during cold boot!

Serial Port
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-01-2009
Location: Hungary
Message 14 of 22 (3,263 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

Have you tried the latest MEI fw update?

Lenovo IdeaPad Miix 2 8
HDMI
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Message 15 of 22 (3,256 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

I have the latest MEI Firmware update installed. I still had to reset TPM after to get rid of the standby beep errors. I am pretty sure the TPM does not wake up from sleep properly sometimes, that is why we get these errors. Again, i also disabled "Intel TXT", which is disabled by default anyways. Did you guys have intel TXT enabled by any chance?

Thinkpad T400 (Windows 7 Ultimate x64)
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Location: Singapore
Message 16 of 22 (3,254 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

I had "Intel TXT" enabled previously. But once you disable TPM, that option is automatically not available anymore. BTW, what is MEI Firmware and where can I get it from?

Token Ring
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎04-03-2009
Location: Davis, CA
Message 17 of 22 (3,252 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

[ Edited ]

Give this a try:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-71137

On the latest change revision, there is this interesting note:

(Fix) Fixed an issue where Intel Management Engine Firmware or host system might hang during M1 state or warm reset transitions.

HDMI
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Message 18 of 22 (3,248 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

I also disabled Intel AMT, cause it is really only useful for Sysadmins. Still, the MEI Firmware update updates the TPM revision as well, so i recommend a reset of the TPM after Bios/MEI Firmware Updates, JUST TO BE SURE. It helped my issue!

Thinkpad T400 (Windows 7 Ultimate x64)
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-09-2009
Location: viet nam
Message 19 of 22 (3,219 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

my thinkpad t400 is same error,

somebody can fix this error??????

sorry all my english is very very badSmiley Sad

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-09-2009
Location: viet nam
Message 20 of 22 (3,175 Views)

Re: T400 Beep error

@firax: Can u fix this problem???

this is my first laptop, my friend(live in usa) help me bought it last week, but now its have this problem, i'm in viet nam, but my laptop was bought in usa,

is this hardware error or software error???

sorry all my english is very very bad

Top Kudoed Authors