cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
KyleGoch
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Location: Atlanta
Views: 6,874
Message 1 of 11

T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

I am working from home instead of my office and I am using a Dell 22" monitor with my T400 (Vista x64) and when I set the resolution to 1680x1050 (optimal/max resolution for the Dell Monitor), the usable screen area is shifted three inches to the right leaving an unusable black bar down the left side of the monitor.

 

At my office I nomally use a docking station and a 22" monitor running at 1680x1050 and have never had a problem there.

 

I have updated & reinstalled my ATI drivers from Lenovos site twice now and not sure where to go from here. Tried using Presentiation Director to no avail either. Also I tried using the ATI Catalyst Control Center but the program never opens, even after reinstall.

 

Also of interesting note, is that if I set the resolution lower to say 1440x900 or any other supported lower resolution the display works just fine at those resolutions.

 

Moderator note: Type added to subject line for clarity.

Message Edited by Agotthelf on 13-05-2009 09:28 AM
abetik
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Location: Atlanta
Views: 6,582
Message 2 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

Any luck getting a solution to this... I've got a T400 trying to display 1440x900 using multiple monitors and the external monitor (an HP L1945w) won't use the entire view and leaves me with a 2 - 3" unusable space

KyleGoch
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Location: Atlanta
Views: 6,578
Message 3 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

Nope. No luck. I still have the problem when connecting to external monitors. Even my LCD TV gives me problems.

x3r
Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Location: United States
Views: 6,522
Message 4 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

Hello,

 

Have you tried changing the settings from your monitor itself? I have a Dell 2001FP (I think that is the name...) and when I connect to it via my laptop, I get the display to be a few centimeters too much to the left, in turn blocking part of the display. I just simply change the settings from the monitor by hitting one of those round buttons near the "on/off" switch for the monitor.

 

Hope this helps.

 

- x3r

ThinkPad T400 w/ Vista Business 64-bit, T9900, 4GB DDR3, 64GB SSD, CD-RW/DVD, 14.1 WXGA+ TFT w/ ATI, BLUETOOTH, WIFI 5300, 4-cell
TheDude
802.11n
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Location: USA
Views: 6,492
Message 5 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

VGA output rather than DVI from a dock?

Something on the settings combo. As others have said, try the buttons on the front of the monitor.

T61p, T400
formerly x23, x40
Stevo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-05-2009
Location: US
Views: 6,180
Message 6 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

I'm experiencing a problem with a T400 and an external display as well (which I'm about to chalk up to lousy Windows 7 drivers).

 

- T400 w/switchable graphics.

- Samsung SyncMaster 2333HD display.

- Windows 7

- Latest switchable graphics drivers.

 

The problem is with 1920x1080 resolution when switched to high performance graphics (ATI). The bottom left corner of the desktop extends off the screen (about a hundred pixels horizontal and vertical of display is missing). Using the monitor's auto adjust feature doesn't fix it.

 

That resolution works ok when switched to the integrated graphics (some flicker sometimes), and works just fine with an R61e Thinkpad running XP driving it.

 

I'm guessing either the ATI graphics card is faulty or the drivers aren't up to snuff. If I set it to always use the ATI graphics in BIOS, can I just use the latest ATI drivers? Maybe that'll help.

 

-- update --

 

Tried the following:

- Disabled switchable graphics in BIOS and set the ATI card as the default.

- Unistalled old driver.

- Windows update installed new driver.

 

Same problem. Is anyone able to drive an external monitor at 1920x1080 with the ATI card, or does this sound like a bad graphics card?

 

-- update --

5/1/2010

 

Using an Advanced MiniDock and DVI connection I get full resolution.

 

TheDude
802.11n
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Location: USA
Views: 6,151
Message 7 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

I drive a Dell 24" at 1200x1920 with no problems on a T400 using DVI from the mini-dock.  Worked with Vista 64 and now WIn 7 64.

I have not tried VGA connection.

T61p, T400
formerly x23, x40
Stevo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-05-2009
Location: US
Views: 6,147
Message 8 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

Thanks for the feedback.

 

I got it working. I think it was the drivers. I uninstalled them and reinstalled (the latest switchable graphics drivers from the Lenovo site, but that's what I used when upgrading to Win 7 -- a clean install) and this time it worked. I'll try switching modes, extending the desktop, only using the external display, duplicate display, etc. and see if I can find any combination that doesn't work.

 

For now, I'm just happy it's working. Here are the details of what's working:

 

Driver Version:  8.641.1.1000

Driver Date:  8/24/2009

 

 

Stevo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-05-2009
Location: US
Views: 5,991
Message 9 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

Only worked that one time after reinstalling drivers. The problem remains. I'm going to restore to original state (go back to original Vista image) and see if the problem is with that config too. If it is, I guess it'll be time to contact support.

Mitra
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Location: USA
Views: 4,813
Message 10 of 11

Re: T400: Problem with external Display Resolution

I want to know what is the maximum resolution that my T400 can support for an external display (in extended desktop mode).

My driver is Mobile Intel(R) 45 Express Chipset Series PCI Express Root Port - 2A41.

I don't have a DVI port on my laptop.

In particular I'd like to know if I can connect it to an external 1680x1050 monitor.

 

Btw, I've seen several other questions like mine asked for different settings. How do you find the answer to this question in general? Is it something that I can find on my own system? or can it be found in lenovo's or intel's websites?

 

Thanks for your help

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors