Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Location: sweden
Message 1 of 7 (2,300 Views)

T400s upgrade to SSD

I would like to change my T400s Toshiba 1.8"  3.3V hard disk (MK1229GSG) to SSD (i.e. OCZSSD1-2VTX60G).

Should I only look for models which works with 3.3V or I can buy 5V version as well? SSD drives manufacturers very often do not provide information about power supply conditions.

 

 

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,273
Solutions: 1,359
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 2 of 7 (2,286 Views)

Re: T400s upgrade to SSD

i think it is safer than you stick to 3.3 v drives.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Highlighted
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,403
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
Message 3 of 7 (2,281 Views)

Re: T400s upgrade to SSD

There aren't a lot of 1.8" SSD device choices.  I just bought a new Intel Series 320 160GB SSD for my X301.  It's working great so far.

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,273
Solutions: 1,359
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 4 of 7 (2,257 Views)

Re: T400s upgrade to SSD

So the series 320 works okay in the X301? Nice, time to get rid of the Samsung SSD that comes with my X301 and T400s.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,403
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
Message 5 of 7 (2,231 Views)

Re: T400s upgrade to SSD

[ Edited ]

lead_org wrote:
So the series 320 works okay in the X301? Nice, time to get rid of the Samsung SSD that comes with my X301 and T400s.

Yes sir. I bought mine new on eBay.  See http://www.ebay.com/itm/200761124838

 

The Samsung seemed rather slow.  No such issue with the new Intel.  I need to run some benchmarks to get a better idea.  The Windows 7 WEI score is 7.6.

 

I backed up the Sammy with Acronis True Image Home 2012 and restored it to the Intel drive.  No issues thus far but it's only been a day.

 

So basically I have a brand new X301 with 8GB of RAM and a 160GB SSD.  Sweet.  Smiley Very Happy

Posts: 892
Topics: 44
Kudos: 144
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Message 6 of 7 (2,131 Views)

Re: T400s upgrade to SSD

Nice to see you were able to find one of the 1.8" Intel drives. There have been recent reports of the 320 experiencing the 8MB bug again, even on the most recent firmware. Please remember to back up the drive regularly and enjoy your increased performance.


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
Location: Indiana
Message 7 of 7 (293 Views)

Re: T400s upgrade to SSD

I just completed this by installing a 480 GB mSATA from Crucial in a 1.8" adapter.  See these links:

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00D4CVLNG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BQ8RHMO/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

After installing the SSD and getting the system reloaded, you have to change the IDE ATA/ATAPI controller to the Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller in Device Manager and delete the Intel controller files that it tries to reference when it is restarted.

 

Be sure to update your BIOS as well.

Top Kudoed Authors