English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

01-25-2011

India

6 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2011
  • Location: India
  • Views: 19
  • Message 1 of 9

T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-25, 2:15 AM

I have a Lenovo Thinkpad  T410 with WIndows 7 . It has "Intel 82577LM Gigabit " network adapter. The issue is that , sometimes, my laptop doesn't connect to the internet. The problem is very intermittent. There is no issue with my wired network connectivity , as I'm able to connect to my Sony Vaio Windows 7 laptop without any problem.

I have tried everything I could get on Internet forums. I updated the network driver also. But the issue still occurs sometimes, and after a few hours , inexplicably, it starts working fine.

 

Any help would be most appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Suraj

Reply
Options

9605 Posts

12-27-2009

CA

3311 Signins

95268 Page Views

  • Posts: 9605
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 95268
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-25, 2:29 AM

The Intel 82577LM Gigabit network adapter IS the wired network adapter.

Could it be that the wireless is going into power saving mode?

 

Try holding the connection by doing a

ping 192.168.1.1 /t

Where 192.168.1.1 is the IP of your router.

 

EDIT: Never mind, I misunderstood your post. Likewise, is the Ethernet adapter going into power saving mode after a while?


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

5 Posts

01-25-2011

India

6 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2011
  • Location: India
  • Views: 19
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-25, 15:48 PM

Thanks for your reply. 

I'm not sure , if the issue is due to "power saving mode" , since it usually occurs when I switch my laptop either in the morning , or at night (when I'm back from work) . can the adapter go in "power saving mode" immediately after startup?

 

I'm not sure , how do I see my router IP. I use a fibre optic wired connection. I did "ipconfig" and tried "default gateway" as the router IP to your command , but I see "Request timed out" , even when currently , my internet connection is up and running.

 

Just another question - is there a remote chance that it might be a hardware issue , and no amount of adapter reinstallation or OS reinstallation will help ? If that is the case, I might as well , raise a ticket, since it's still under warranty.

Reply
Options

9605 Posts

12-27-2009

CA

3311 Signins

95268 Page Views

  • Posts: 9605
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 95268
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-25, 16:43 PM

Try an Ubuntu LiveUSB/LiveCD and see if it has issues there.

Did you disable the DHCP or DNS service? Maybe the DHCP lease is timing out and it's not trying to get a new one.

 

Also, try turning off the wireless adapter using Fn+F5 to rule out any conflicts.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

5 Posts

01-25-2011

India

6 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2011
  • Location: India
  • Views: 19
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-26, 3:01 AM

It's a company provided laptop with no admin rights, so I'm afraid I can't try different things.

I checked Windows Services and I see both "DHCP Client" and "DNS client" as "started" and startup type as "Automatic".

The wireless is disabled by default.

Reply
Options

3275 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3275
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-26, 8:00 AM

 


surajshikhar wrote:

The wireless is disabled by default.


 

Hi and welcome to the forum surajshikhar!


There is a hardware switch on the right side of the notebook, verify it's in "on" position, when you put it in a bag/sleeve there is a chance of it sliding to off position. I would also recommend checking in the BIOS that wifi connectivity is turned on in there. As Colonel suggested, also check/turn on the wireless status via Fn+F5.


If you've intermittent wifi connectivity issue, then take a look at this solved thread:- http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T410s-Disconnecting-Reconnecting/m-p/360295#M37765


Keep us posted.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Reply
Options

5 Posts

01-25-2011

India

6 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2011
  • Location: India
  • Views: 19
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-26, 11:12 AM

Thanks your for your ideas, Maliha.

The hardware switch on the right-side is for wireless , I guess and I'm using a wired internet connection.

I did the 1st suggestion on the link, but couldn't do the 2nd one, as it needs Admin rights.

 

Also, I want to clarify that my issue is intermittent in the sense that somedays, when I switch on my laptop, I'm not able to connect to the internet. But on some other days, when I'm able to connect, it works perfectly fine the whole day, without any glitch.

It's NOT that, I keep loosing the connection , every few minutes or hours.

Reply
Options

3275 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3275
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-27, 0:31 AM

If you're talking about wired connection, try this:-


1. Click the "Start" button and choose "Control Panel" from the Start menu.

2. Click "Device Manager" on the "Control Panel."

3. Click the arrow icon next to "Network Adapters" to extend the category.

4. Right-click on your network card and choose "Properties" from the menu.

5. Navigate to the "Power Management" tab.

6. Remove the check in the box next to "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power."

7. Click the "OK" button to confirm the new settings. 


Let us know how it goes.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Reply
Options

5 Posts

01-25-2011

India

6 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2011
  • Location: India
  • Views: 19
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

2011-01-27, 2:19 AM

Thank you for your suggestion. I don't see the 'Power Management' tab, since I think I need to log in as Admin.

Next time, the problem occurs, I will take it to the System Admin guys and get this setting changed.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete