Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Location: Denver, CO
Message 41 of 57 (8,670 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

Hi 

I have the same model, and was wondering if you could send a link to the type of cable you bought to get the audio to work?

 

Thanks!

 

Forrest

yfg
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Location: Atlanta, US
Message 42 of 57 (8,478 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

There was no audio via displayport-hmdi to a TV for my first  try. From Control Panel there is a SmartAudio tool for my T510 model, which allows you switch audio from default to HDMI by clicking. After switching the audio, The displayport cable can carry both video and audio to my HD TV set. Hope it helps.

What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Location: Shoreview, Minnesota
Message 43 of 57 (7,778 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

Thanks  -- this is the solution I needed.

 

Curt

Former Employee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-20-2009
Location: USA
Message 44 of 57 (7,183 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

[ Edited ]

The T410 does support audio over DisplayPort to HDMI HDTV's. The problem is you have to use a DP to HDMI cable that also passes the audio signals as many DP to HDMI cables don't. If you use the right cable the posts in this blog to get sound from your TV will work. If you use the wrong cable than the notebook does not see the TV speakers and you can't get it to work like all of the blogs.

So make sure you buy a cable that clearly supports audio over the cable.

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
Location: Outer Banks, NC, USA
Message 45 of 57 (7,103 Views)

A Cable that Works and One that Doesn't...

Hi,

 

Reading this forum was really helpful in getting my ThinkPad and TV to work right, specifically sending both video and audio through the DisplayPort. Thanks for your posts.

 

Just wanted to add my luck with two cables. This was the first cable I tried--could only get video to work with it. I tired this cable next and it works perfectly (so far...just got it tonight)--both video and (stereo) audio.

 

I'm connecting my ThinkPad T410 (2522W7N with NVIDIA NVS 3100M, Windows 7 Pro 64) to Panasonic TC-L32X2 32-Inch 720p LCD HDTV.

 

Thanks again

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Location: Denmark
Message 46 of 57 (6,767 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

Hi YFG, I'm brand new in this Forum and very interested in getting the DP on my T510 (XP Prof, SP3) to transmit sound.

 

I have a Connexant SmartAudio => Codec Model CX 20585, and sound driverversion 3.66.147.0

 

Still I am no able to change the sound to be transported via HDMI. How did yuo do it ? By using Win7 or another trick :-)

Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Location: Denmark
Message 47 of 57 (6,510 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

Hi YFG, I'm brand new in this Forum and very interested in getting the DP on my T510 (XP Prof, SP3) to transmit sound.



I have a Connexant SmartAudio => Codec Model CX 20585, and sound driverversion 3.66.147.0



Still I am no able to change the sound to be transported via HDMI. How did yuo do it ? By using Win7 or another trick :-)
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Location: Denmark
Message 48 of 57 (6,511 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

Did you have Win7 when you tried both cables ? I was wondering if the OS could be factor that does the trick in stead of the cables ? I am using XP and doesn't get the sound. My technicians at work tell me that with a T510 the trroubles are gon when they give me Win7.....I'm crossing fingers
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
Location: Outer Banks, NC, USA
Message 49 of 57 (6,503 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

yep, both were under win 7

Highlighted
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Location: Denmark
Message 50 of 57 (6,456 Views)

Re: T410/T510 DisplayPort features audio!!

In general all DP / HDMI cabels ought to be able to transport both sound and visuals, so how can you be sure that you have the rigth cable before actuallu testing it ? Im pretty sure alle vendows will say that the cable is allright upfront :-) Do you know of any idefiable numbers on the cable or other kinds of ID's that will give a clue ??
top kudoed authors