cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
colin4k
Paper Tape
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Location: China
Views: 2,240
Message 1 of 8

T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

If T410 installs the Power Management Driver 1.60, the Intel Turbo Boost Technology will be disabled, how to fix the problem?

warder
Token Ring
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
Location: USA
Views: 2,219
Message 2 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

It's working here with that.  How do you know it's disabled?

 

Install the Power Manager application and turn slider to left for more performance for a simple way to control this.

 

Or you can manually change windows power options manually to do the same.  Be plugged in when testing this.

colin4k
Paper Tape
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Location: China
Views: 2,208
Message 3 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

Because if I install the power management driver 1.6 , the cpu can not be over 2.66G hz, but when I uninstall it, then the cpu can be over 2.67, almost to 3.2 Ghz when I run some tests.

colin4k
Paper Tape
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Location: China
Views: 2,205
Message 4 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

And I have set the application to most performance, but the cpu will not be over 2.66G.( my cup is i7-620m with the default 2.66G)

colin4k
Paper Tape
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Location: China
Views: 2,204
Message 5 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

I use the Intel Turbo Boost Technology Monitor to monitor my cpu.

 

http://www.intel.com/support/processors/sb/CS-031038.htm

mike5065
Token Ring
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎02-24-2010
Location: Toronto
Views: 2,201
Message 6 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

I've found in past testing with Power Manager (PM) that if CPU is set to Adaptive or Max Performance, then Turbo will kick in. If CPU is set to Low or Lowest, then Turbo never kicks in. Same idea with Thermal Management. These two seemed to drive Turbo capabilities.

 

If you are using PM, try fiddling with these settings, and watch performance on the Turbo desktop gadget (above). Of course you'll need an intensive application (like PM or ThinkVantage Tolbox) to stress the system in order for Turbo to kick in.

colin4k
Paper Tape
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Location: China
Views: 2,188
Message 7 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

Thanks! When I use the default 'Max Performance', seems that the cpu performance cant be set to max, and the TURBO is still disabled, but when I set up a new plan, and the cpu performance can be set to max, and the TURBO kicks in !

mike5065
Token Ring
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎02-24-2010
Location: Toronto
Views: 2,182
Message 8 of 8

Re: T410's problem with Power Management Driver 1.60

Good news. Turbo is nice, eh?

 

I should mention I use "reset to defaults" most ThinkVantage tools. PM settings and BIOS settings appear to share these settings and may overwrite each other. Reset to defaults seems to clean things up somewhat.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors