Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

19 Posts

07-27-2010

USA

18 Signins

445 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎07-27-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 445
  • Message 1 of 4

T410s Display Issues: Cannor Dim monitor using function keys & occasional external monitor blink

2010-10-23, 18:18 PM

Hi,

 

I have two major issues.

 

I'm connected to an external monitor using a display port to hdmi converter, and an hdmi to dvi cable.

When I am on "Energy Saving" (switchable graphics) mode, the external nomitor blinks every 5-10 seconds, but it is perfectly fine when I am under "High Performance" (switchable graphics) mode, so I'm not sure that it's the cables/adapters/monitor that I am using.

 

The second is I cannot change my brightness using fn+home/end when I go through this process:

 

  1. In "Maximum Performance" (power plan) mode (while plugged into ac)
  2. unplug ac
  3. Go into "Maximum Battery Life" (power plan) mode
  4. plug in ac
  5. plug in external display to displayport
  6. Go into "High Performance" (switchable graphics) mode

until I change back into "Maximum Performance"(power plan) mode then back into "Maximum Battery Life" (power plan)mode then back into "High Performance" (switchable graphics) mode.

 

This is a bit annoying, but at least I found the steps to temporarially work around the problem ...

 

edit:

 

Okay it happend to me again, but i can't fix it (haven't tried a reset though, but i don't want to bc I just started the computer and that's ridiculus).

Also, I can change the brightness fine when the computer is in Energy Saving" (switchable graphics), but I get the blinking problem, which is why I mentioned it earlier.

Reply
Options

19 Posts

07-27-2010

USA

18 Signins

445 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎07-27-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 445
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: T410s Display Issues: Cannor Dim monitor using function keys & occasional external monitor b

2011-04-14, 0:16 AM
bump?
Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: T410s Display Issues: Cannor Dim monitor using function keys & occasional external monitor b

2011-04-14, 0:43 AM
Are all of your drivers up to date through System Update?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

19 Posts

07-27-2010

USA

18 Signins

445 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎07-27-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 445
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: T410s Display Issues: Cannor Dim monitor using function keys & occasional external monitor b

2011-04-14, 0:51 AM

Yes, I also did a factory reset. Still happening. Then did all updatees through lenovo system update. Still happening.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms