English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

04-23-2013

Fort Myers, FL

4 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2013
  • Location: Fort Myers, FL
  • Views: 30
  • Message 1 of 4

T420, No factory restore option in the rescue and recovery

2013-04-23, 15:42 PM
I purchased my T420 one year ago and have sufficiently "hosed it up" to the point I wanted to do a factory restore. I saved all my data then proceeded to create the CDs from the Q drive factory restore. I followed the instructs for more and more CDs and once I got up to #12 I noted that the time it was taking to create them was down from several minutes to several seconds. When I got to CD number 18 I thought "this is ridicules" and I popped CD 11 back in to look at its content (via Windows Explorer). I noted it had two folders: 1) Factory restore (or something like that) which was over 500 MB in size and 2) something about data. This "data" folder contained 1 KB of data. I then looked at all subsequent CDs (12-18) and they all only contained this data file. So, rather than continuing to make these (basically empty CDs) I stopped.

I then put the first CD in and rebooted the machine. The factory restore started and I swapped CDs until I got to 12. I put 12 in and it said the required data was not present and to insert the next CD. I did this until I ran out of the CDs I had created. I had to "X" out of the restore app and now when I boot I get nothing but a dimly lit screen and a flickering
hard drive light! Am I totally hosed here? How many CDs would it have required had I kept making them?

I am ( obviously) a novice. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tom
Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

7900 Posts

01-13-2008

US

76967 Signins

2167698 Page Views

  • Posts: 7900
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2167698
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: T420, No factory restore option in the rescue and recovery

2013-04-23, 16:28 PM

Hi Tom, welcome,

 

As you've discovered, it's a better choice to use DVDs for this.  Actually 1 CD and then 2 or 3 DVDs.  Too late for that :(

 

You have a couple of choices: call support and order a set of recovery media or do a clean install from Microsoft media.

 

Support will probably charge for the media.  You can use Microsoft Win 7 (this is a win 7 machine ???) install media - either borrowed or downloaded - and activate with the CoA key on the sticker on your machine.  Probably in the battery compartment.  Use media that matches the install already on your laptop.  Probably Win 7 Pro.

 

Google "legal windows 7 download notebook review" for links to ISOs.  Burn _as an image_ to DVD.   Once it's installed install ThinkVantage Sytem Update and let it pull down the drivers and apps for your machine.

 

United States THINK-branded products English 1-800-426-7378 24 hours/day
7 days/week

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community


0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

04-23-2013

Fort Myers, FL

4 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2013
  • Location: Fort Myers, FL
  • Views: 30
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: T420, No factory restore option in the rescue and recovery

2013-04-23, 17:58 PM
Yep, I now know better for future efforts of this type!

Thank you very much for the quick response and good solution(s). I have the path forward and this all makes perfect sense to me.

Thanks again!
Tom
Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-15-2013

Indonesia

2 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-15-2013
  • Location: Indonesia
  • Views: 14
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: T420, No factory restore option in the rescue and recovery

2013-08-15, 11:04 AM

My T420 cannot be factory recovered. Any one have the backup of Drive S (SYSTEM_DRV) content. I think the contents was changed because the size was greater than 400MB.

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save