cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
craig-t
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Location: UK
Views: 123,649
Message 1 of 14

T420 RAM Upgrade

Hi, having just purchased a new T420 with 4GB of RAM I would like to immediately upgrade it to 8GB as right now the cost is pretty low.

 

However, I would appreciate some advice on which option to choose.

 

The Crucial Memory scanner gives me quite a few options.

 

Should I buy 1 x 4GB to compliment the existing memory or 2 x 4GB and replace the existing memory?

 

Also there are a few different types

DD3 PC3-12800 CL11 Unbuffered Non-ECC DD3-1600

DD3 PC3-10600 CL9   Unbuffered Non-ECC DD3-1333

either are available at 1.5v or 1.35v options.

 

There isn't really any price difference between them, but a single 4GB stick is half the price if I was to keep the existing memory.

 

Any help in choosing the best option is much appreciated

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 123,636
Message 2 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade


@craig-t wrote:

 

Should I buy 1 x 4GB to compliment the existing memory or 2 x 4GB and replace the existing memory?

 

Also there are a few different types...


PSREF says the T420 uses "PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3." You can use faster memory like PC3-12800 but it won't have any effect on performance.

 

I would buy a single 4GB SODIMM to add to your existing module. A matched pair will theoretically perform faster but the difference is single digit percentage. You won't be able to perceive it in practice.

 

As for voltage, I'd Google the part number of the SODIMM you now have then buy a second SODIMM that's rated for the same voltage.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,823
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 123,625
Message 3 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

FWIW, I installed this 4G stick in my new T420 along with the factory stick.  Memtest86 was happy and so far it's worked flawlessly.

 

Crucial 4GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Laptop Memory Model CT51264BC1339

 

Z.

 

[edit] Cleaned up the link a bit.  Typo.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Guru
Posts: 948
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Views: 123,620
Message 4 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

Either purchase 1x4GB stick, or upgrade to 2x8GB. The T420 supports up to 16GB of RAM.

 

Right after I purchased my T420 I bought this Samsung RAM ( http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-MV-3T4G4-Laptop-1333MHz-PC3-10600/dp/B004BDOT7C/ ). It has been running perfectly fine with the Samsung RAM that came with the computer for over a year now. According to CPU-Z, the stick of Samsung RAM I linked to above is a perfect match for the memory timings of the stick that my T420 shipped with.

 

While most people say it doesn't matter, I have a preference for having matched components, so I purchased 1.5V RAM because my T420 shipped with 1.5V RAM. If you were going to replace both sticks and go to 2x8GB then I would purchase 1.35V RAM. Some of the newer machines ship with and support 1.35V RAM, so it might be nice to have as a possible upgrade. 

 

As far as speed, they ship with the PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3, and the system is going to run at the speed of the slowest module. If you simply add on a second stick you would see no benefit of going to one with more speed. Even if you replaced both of them, you are unlikely to be able to notice the very minor difference in performance, unless you are trying to game on the integrated graphics (not recommended).

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
hlcci
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Location: United States
Views: 118,242
Message 5 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

there is only one slot available in the T-420 4180

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,823
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 118,236
Message 6 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade


@hlcci wrote:

there is only one slot available in the T-420 4180


Not sure what you mean by that.  From the tabook (4180) (ThinkPad Notebooks; 2005 to present (withdrawn models))  :

 

8GB max7 / PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3, non-parity,
dual-channel capable, two 204-pin SO-DIMM sockets

 

One is under the keyboard and the other is on the bottom of the laptop under the DIMM slot cover.

 

If you mean that one is already occupied, that's probably true.  One or both.

 

See the hardware maintenance for details: Hardware Maintenance Manual - ThinkPad T420, T420i

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

hlcci
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Location: United States
Views: 118,194
Message 7 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

Correct.

Thanks for the input!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,823
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 83,273
Message 8 of 14
Moved:

T420 RAM Upgrade

McDick
Punch Card
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-29-2015
Location: Italia
Views: 80,882
Message 9 of 14

T420 RAM Upgrade

wkearney99
Serial Port
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-19-2011
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Views: 78,727
Message 10 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

Fwiw, I just upgraded my T420 with a pair of 8GB modules from this kit: http://www.crucial.com/ProductDisplay?urlRequestType=Base&catalogId=10151&categoryId=&productId=1173... Which I'm assuming Crucial lists as not compatible because their database only supports the T420 as having 8GB total. Not so. Mine's running now with these, showing 16gb (15.9gb usable) in Windows 7 x64. I got mine for a decent price ($79) from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-DDR3L-1600-PC3-12800-CT2K8G3S160BM-CT2C8G3S160BM/ They're also the same ones I'm putting in my wife & child's Dell All-in-One Inspiron 2330 machines.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors