cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
AppTech
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Location: Johannesburg
Views: 4,887
Message 1 of 9

T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

Hi

 

I have just got a T420 (Win 7 64bit) which did not have a 3g module. I took the gobi 2000 out of my t410i and put it in this machine. I have installed the driver for the t410 and it installs perfectly, although it does not list the T420 as a compatible machine.

 

 I can create the dialup with the gobi modem but I keep getting an error 619 and it will not connect.

 

I have tried installing access connections and connecting via mobile broadband but still no luck. If I go to in access connection to advanced, tools, mobile broadband (which is now no longer greyed out) I can see existing SMSs on the sim card but send or receive new SMS so it seems the card is not registered on the mobile network.

 

If I press FN+F5, WWAN  is not listed so I can’t turn it on.

 

Any ideas?

JDay
Broadband 3G
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Views: 4,879
Message 2 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

Make sure you enabled the card in BIOS.

AppTech
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Location: Johannesburg
Views: 4,847
Message 3 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

Hi

 

I checked and it is enabled.

 

 

AppTech
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Location: Johannesburg
Views: 4,761
Message 4 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

Hi 

 

I am still not winning on this one, any ideas from anyone?

Model is 4178-A4G.

 

Thanks

elzappero
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-18-2011
Location: Poland
Views: 4,728
Message 5 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

I have the same problem, but unfortunately not solved

and I also have model 4178-a4g

dmndbak
Punch Card
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-31-2010
Location: Vernon Hills, IL USA
Views: 4,484
Message 6 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

The Gobi card version changed from the T410 to the T420.  The T410 user the Gobi 2000 card while the T420 uses the Gobi 3000.  In my experience they are not interoperable between the different models.  You can install the drivers for the 2000 on the T420 but it won't recognize the card and often times when you reboot you'll get a black screen with a message that an unauthorized device is installed.  Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but your T420 will need a new WWAN chip.

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Location: US
Views: 4,452
Message 7 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

Not going to work folks.  The T420 uses GOBI 3000 not the GOBI 2000.  You would need to purchase a GOBI 3000 card (Part Number 0A36185) or outside the US, you can use the Ericsson 5521gw card (0A36186). You would need the GOBI 3000 card to connect to Sprint or Verizon in the US. Other SIM based providers can use either card.

nidelius
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-06-2015
Location: SE
Views: 1,539
Message 8 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

Is this because of whitelist or even without whitelist in bios it would be impossible to get a gobi 2000 working in a T420?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 11,864
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 1,535
Message 9 of 9

Re: T420 and Qualcomm Gobi 2000

gobi 2000 isn't wl'ed in t420



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors