cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
rajaniesh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 46,933
Message 1 of 32

T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Hi,

 

I want to upgrade my t430 Laptop to 16/32 GB RAM. When I purchased this laptop, Lenovo store told me that this laptop has only one open RAM slot and he added 8 GB RAM and told me that we can not upgrade this laptop to 16/32 GB RAM. But I have a doubt because in the laptop specification it is clearly written that this laptop can be upgraded to 16/32 GB RAM...Can somebody provide me clarity about it.

 

Regards

Rajaniesh

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 46,856
Message 2 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

You can definitely upgrade to 2x 8GB = 16GB total.

 

I don't know about 32GB. I seem to recall reading that either the chipset or motherboard don't allow it. In any case I don't think 16GB SODIMMs are available.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
Kaso
802.11n
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-10-2010
Location: Corona
Views: 46,848
Message 3 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

The T430 has two RAM slots: one underneath the keyboard (which is usually factory-populated with a 4GB module) and the other is on the underside.

Likely, your T430 has 4GB stock + 8GB upgrade by the seller.

You can always replace the stock module with an 8GB module. (Check the T430 Hardware Maintenance Manual on how to remove and re-install the keyboard -- it's not difficult.)

Yes, you can upgrade your T430 to 8GB + 8GB = 16GB RAM.
lenfall
Token Ring
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Location: US
Views: 46,839
Message 4 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Seems like you have 12gb RAM. That is good enough to run one Virtual machine. Not sure if extra memory is going to boost performance.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 46,822
Message 5 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

According to the intel spec the new dual core ivy bridge cpu supports 2 x 16 gigs ram.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
rajaniesh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 46,796
Message 6 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

So what is the final Verdict ?Can I upgrade my T430 to 32 GB?Or It is possible to upgrade it to 32 GB?If Yes then please let me know how to achieve it?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 46,800
Message 7 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

the final verdict can only be reached when 16 gigs sodimm ram is released to the market, which they are not.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 46,770
Message 8 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB


@rajaniesh wrote:

So what is the final Verdict ?


The jury is still out.

 

There are at least two issues currently being deliberated by the jury that preclude a final verdict Smiley Wink

1. Even if the chip architecture supports 32GB the motherboard in the T430 may not.

2. Even if the chipset and mobo support 32GB you can't buy 16GB SODIMM modules.

 

Why do you feel you need more than 16GB?

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
rajaniesh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 46,553
Message 9 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

I need to run two separate SharePoint 2013 VPC in a separate Virtual machines, that is why I need 32 GB RAM

brostagni
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Location: France
Views: 44,243
Message 10 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Actually, I can't find a 32GB Kit (16GBx2), 240-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3-12800 memory module

:/

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors