cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 7,942
Message 11 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB


@brostagni wrote:

Actually, I can't find a 32GB Kit (16GBx2), 240-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3-12800 memory module

:/


Because no one makes 16GB DDR3 laptop DIMMs to begin with...

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
darkatom
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2014
Location: Australia
Views: 7,563
Message 12 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

IMM2G64D3(L)SOD8AG 16GB ddr3 SODIMM, non ECC.

http://www.intelligentmemory.com/dram-modules/ddr3-so-dimm/

Should be available soon. I hope
brostagni
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Location: France
Views: 7,543
Message 13 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Good news !!!

I hope that someone will be in capacity of testing it and posting the test result here !

Lets continue the information hunting Smiley Happy

twmemphis
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
Location: Germany
Views: 7,541
Message 14 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

The Intelligent Memory 16GB SO-DIMM modules are already available, full production.

But the Lenovo/Intel BIOS can not identify them.

 

The BIOS contains the memory initialization routine, also called Memory Reference Code (MRC), which is a piece of software programmed by Intel for each of their CPUs. This software reads out the parameters from a little Eeprom on the memory module and then sets the registers to drive the memory.

For whatever reason this software can only work with memory-chips with a maximum of 4 Gigabit per IC. This is good enough for using 8 Gigabyte SO-DIMMs, but a 16 Gigabyte module is made of 8 Gigabit DDR3 chips, which the MRC does not know how to handle. The result is that the system hangs when it starts the BIOS.

 

Lenovo or Intel might be able to fix it and release a BIOS update, but per my information nothing is planned here.

 

 

brostagni
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Location: France
Views: 7,538
Message 15 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

oucha.....Thanks for the technical information, very instructive.

Well it is a bad news news for us on the T430s if Intel or Lenovo does not plan to move in this bios upgrade direction.

I will look and follow bios update than !

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 11,890
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 7,520
Message 16 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Only enthuziasts with BIOS modding skills and expirience might test the such memory in the current laptop lines, on IvyBridge and Haswell. If they wiil know details about new settings.

As I said before, no chance to have support of the new 16 gb sticks at the mass market because of the sertification expenses (each laptop model on several platforms, with new memory in different combination with 2,4,8 gb sticks) and restricted modules availability.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

rajaniesh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 7,485
Message 17 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

When I enquired from Lenovo they told me that their T430 laptop does not
supports the 32 GB Ram.Can you please assure me that the IM link you
provided me for 32 GB Ram will work with T430 laptops

brostagni
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Location: France
Views: 7,467
Message 18 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Sorry, as everybody says here, no insurance that it works, even worst, it should not unless the bios is updated by intel or Lenovo...if they decide to work on it.

mattva
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2015
Location: VA
Views: 6,681
Message 19 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

Awesome detali, thanks.

 

I have a T430s and just got the 16GB SODIMM from Crucial (CT204864BF160B.C16FA 16GB DDR3-1600 SODIMM 1.35V CL11 ) and it did not work.  Smiley Sad  I'm on BIOS 2.63 from Lenovo. Anything I can do/check before I return the memory?

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

 

 

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 9,495
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 6,670
Message 20 of 32

Re: T430 RAM upgrade to 16/32GB

The 16GB DIMMs only work on i3/i5/i7 -5xxx CPUs and later. This is NOT a Lenovo limitation. Return the memory

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors