cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
backdoorman
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
Location: Ukraine
Views: 1,986
Message 1 of 6

T430 cpu i7-3520 multiplier stuck at 12

Hello.

 

Symptoms of problem:
Model # T430 with Intel i7-3520m processor with 8 GB RAM running windows7 64 bit ultimate.
Slow performance.
Low windows experience index for CPU 4.8 versus expected ~7.2 for i7-3520m CPU (2.9 GHz)

Observations of Problem:
CPU-Z monitor and AIDA64 showed the CPU multiplier constantly stuck at 12 which translates to 1.2 Ghz CPU speed.

 

Steps to resolution:
Ran all Lenovo diagnostics via F10 at boot – all passed
Ran all Intel CPU diagnostics (Intel® Processor Diagnostic Tool) – all passed
Changed setting in bios for CPU speed step and power management – no change
Changed all windows power management settings to every combination – no change
Upgraded chipset drivers – no change
Upgrade Video drivers – no change

Complete reinstall of Windows 7 – no change

Upgrade BIOS – unable to upgrade, updater refuse processing update without battery, which is unavailable now. Anyway there is no fixes for such problem in BIOS fixes list.

 

Any suggestions, gentlemen?

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,923
Message 2 of 6

Re: T430 cpu i7-3520 multiplier stuck at 12

Do you have a 65W adapter? Do you have a discrete graphics card or just integrated?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
backdoorman
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
Location: Ukraine
Views: 1,920
Message 3 of 6

Re: T430 cpu i7-3520 multiplier stuck at 12

I have 65W adapter and integrated + discrete graphics on board, with discrete using by default.

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,936
Message 4 of 6

Re: T430 cpu i7-3520 multiplier stuck at 12

65W without a battery is not sufficient to drive the hardware at full speed, so it caps your CPU.

You'll need a 90W or potentially even a 135W adapter. Or a battery.

You could use ThrottleStop to force the multiplier, but you'd risk system instability or damaging your power supply.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
backdoorman
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
Location: Ukraine
Views: 1,911
Message 5 of 6

Re: T430 cpu i7-3520 multiplier stuck at 12

ColonelONeill, thanks for potential solution, I'll check it soon as possible, hope it will help Smiley Happy

backdoorman
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
Location: Ukraine
Views: 1,878
Message 6 of 6

Re: T430 cpu i7-3520 multiplier stuck at 12

Thanks for solution, problem disappear with battery Smiley Happy

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors