English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

11-12-2013

Raleigh, NC

9 Signins

29 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2013
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • Views: 29
  • Message 1 of 17

T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2013-11-12, 23:05 PM

I just acquired a Seiki 39" 4k resolution monitor (SE39UY04). Intel 4000 graphics support 4k resolution. Displayport 1.4 (as equipped on the T430s) supports 4k (at 30 hz). I have approved displayport to hdmi converter, and a 4k enabled hdmi cable that came with the screen.

 

I cannot figure out how to enable 4k resolution. I even tried forcing it in the Intel driver app, but I'm told the settings exceed available bandwidth. I set refresh all the way to 24 (the lowest valid number). Color depth is fixed at 32 bit - cutting that in half would certainly help, but I can't seem to change that (32bit is the only option in the drop down).

 

Any suggestions for getting 3840 x 2160 @ 30 hz? I don't need more than 16bit color depth if that helps. 

 

My target is business applications, no games or 3D. Just big spreadsheets and lots of multitasking.

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 20986
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2013-11-13, 0:20 AM
The intel Hd4000 doesn't support displayport 1.4? Are you referring to DP 1.2?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-12-2013

Raleigh, NC

9 Signins

29 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2013
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • Views: 29
  • Message 3 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2013-11-13, 2:38 AM

4k support is driver enabled. http://ultrabooknews.com/2012/10/31/new-intel-hd-3000-and-hd-4000-drivers-support-for-windows-8-4k-ultra-hd-opengl-4-0-and-more/

Reply
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 20986
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 4 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2013-11-13, 3:13 AM
You are trying to use Displayport to HDMI converter to enable 4K support.

The displayport on the intel hd4000 is a Displayport 1.1, and not Displayport 1.2.

https://communities.intel.com/thread/38524

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

3 Posts

01-25-2014

US

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 24
  • Message 5 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-01-25, 18:37 PM

rmsuydam

 

Could you tell the outcome of your attempts?

 

Have you got it running? what resolution/refresh rate? Any caveats?

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-12-2013

Raleigh, NC

9 Signins

29 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2013
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • Views: 29
  • Message 6 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-01-26, 1:41 AM

never got it working. could have, i think, but couldn't force a color depth other than 32 bit. dpoing the math, if i could hve gone to 16 bit color i could have gotten the resolution at 24fps. i'm color bling, so that would have been fine. but that setting was not configurable in the intel driver.

 

so, i sent the monitor back. sad face.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

02-18-2014

Mountain View, CA

17 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2014
  • Location: Mountain View, CA
  • Views: 96
  • Message 7 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 0:34 AM

T430S's video hardware can't drive 4k. You'll need a T440s. Check the max resolution in the specifications.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

01-25-2014

US

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 24
  • Message 8 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 8:58 AM

Yep, thanks.

 

I've seen some message/blogs out there about running 4K on Seiko display on laptops with HD 4000, but with few notices - it was 30 Hz, mostly LInux (not sure if it was ever for Windows), and not Lenovo, but some HDMI equipped laptops.

 

I've also read about running Seiko on T530 (which may have different GPU, I know) but with some magic "active" display port/hdmi adapter.

 

Here is the  link

 

 

Here are 2 more from the same blog to cover full story seiko review  and 4K on Fedora (desktop).

 

It's the reason I hoped somebody will manage to confirm it works with T430s

Reply
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 20986
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 9 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 10:00 AM

http://www.amazon.com/Seiki-Digital-SE39UY04-39-Inch-Ultra/dp/B00DOPGO2G

if you read the spec, the 4K@30hz is only supported through HDMI, it requires a HDMI 1.4 to be exact. Lenovo ThinkPad T430s/T430 DP don't support hdmi 1.4, which is why you couldn't get it to work.

But the DP 1.1 definitely can support 4K resolution (correction: DP 1.1 can only support 4K @ 30 hz or less), which is why the displayport splitter works.

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

3 Posts

01-25-2014

US

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 24
  • Message 10 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 10:08 AM

Thank you!

 

To avoid confusion I am not topic starter, but I am very interested in 4K resolution, and Seiko specifically for it gets fabulous reviews. And since I'm using T430s as main unit, it's nice to know it can drive such display, even though with splitter.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

02-18-2014

Mountain View, CA

17 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2014
  • Location: Mountain View, CA
  • Views: 96
  • Message 11 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 18:48 PM

I don't know where you're getting your information. The T430s cannot drive 4k on DisplayPort according to Lenovo:

 

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?DocID=PD024706

 

  • Maximum external resolution: 2560x1600 (DisplayPort)@60Hz; 2048x1536 (VGA)@75Hz; 1920x1200@60Hz (single-link DVI-D via cable 45J7915)

I specifically upgraded to a T440s to get my Seiki 4k screen working. It works fine with an active display port to HDMI 1.4a adapter directly connected to the laptop. It does NOT work through the dock (The dock is not properly compliant for the higher clock rates in DisplayPort 1.1, despite claiming it is)

Reply
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 20986
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 12 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 22:03 PM
Lenovo spec for the t430s was written up when 4k resolution does not exist yet.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

638 Posts

10-21-2011

DE

9453 Signins

100357 Page Views

  • Posts: 638
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2011
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 100357
  • Message 13 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 22:09 PM

It did already exist, maybe not yet on the mass-market, but all the plans were already there. 

 

As tmhardie posted: The T430s does support 2560x1600 as maximum over DP. The only Ivy-Bridge machine with 4K support is the W530 (which also proves that 4k already existed), since the W530 has DP 1.2

 

All new Haswell machines support 4K, but some only @30Hz (like the T440s with HD4400), and some with 60Hz.

Reply
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 20986
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 14 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2014-04-16, 22:40 PM

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wdU2c6clEds

The hardware itself can Support 4k. But the new 4k monitors require either hdmi 1.4 or dp 1.2 with MST, which ivy bridge cpu don't support.

Just like the ivy bridge CPU can 32 gigs ram across two ram slots, but Intel deciding that it didn't want to release bios firmware to enable that feature.

 

Correction: The T430s can support 4K@60 hz when two displayports are used. If using only one displayport, 4K resolution can be achieved only when you have a refresh rate of lower than 30 hz. 

 

 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-05-2015

3 Signins

16 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2015
  • Location:
  • Views: 16
  • Message 15 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2015-01-05, 3:07 AM
I can confirm 4K works with a T430s.

I used the 'custom resolution' (right click on desktop) of the intel windows driver to define 3840x2160x25Hz.

This is connected with display port to a Samsung U28590D with mini DP to DP adapter.


I'm not doing video or gaming so 25Hz is OK.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-31-2018

US

3 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-31-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 14
  • Message 16 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2018-01-31, 21:55 PM

You can, but you need to use DataPort to get 3840 x 2160 @ 30 hz OR use an ACTIVE DataPort to HDMI 2.0 to get 3840 x 2160 @ 30 hz via device like "Plugable Active DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 Adapter (Supports displays up to 4K / UHD / 3840x2160@60Hz) " on Amazon about $19 bucks. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00S0C7QO8/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A3HIHADV23VGU1&psc=1 that way laptop will see DP and will give you the 4k out at 30 Hz.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-03-2018

US

4 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 32
  • Message 17 of 17

Re: T430S - need help outputting 4k resolution

2018-02-03, 17:32 PM

T430 will not support UHD via the HDMI ports, you must use DataPort, but that will only be at UHD at 30 Hz. To get to display on HDMI you will need an active port adaptor such as Mfg by "Plugable". Search for "Plugable Active DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 Adapter" at Google or Amazon. This  adaptor supports displays up to 4K / UHD / 3840x2160@60Hz. I currently use two of them with both DataPorts to drive TWO 4K monitors at 3840x2160 BUT I suggest you reduce the screen Hz to 25 as the docking station tends to have issues on Port 1 at 30Hz. Hope that helps others out there. Cheers. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save