English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

18 Posts

03-17-2011

US

30 Signins

216 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 216
  • Message 1 of 24

T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-19, 13:07 PM

Hello,

 

I'm starting to use a T430s with:
Core i7-3520M

8GB RAM

256 GB SSD

 

and in 2 days of usage, I've gotten 2 stop 101 errors:

 

The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck.  The bugcheck was: 0x00000101 (0x0000000000000031, 0x0000000000000000, 0xfffff88003365180, 0x0000000000000002). A dump was saved in: C:\windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 071812-8346-01.

 

Debbuging the memory dump, I get this:

 

CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
An expected clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor in an
MP system within the allocated interval. This indicates that the specified
processor is hung and not processing interrupts.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000031, Clock interrupt time out interval in nominal clock ticks.
Arg2: 0000000000000000, 0.
Arg3: fffff88003365180, The PRCB address of the hung processor.
Arg4: 0000000000000002, 0.

Debugging Details:
------------------


BUGCHECK_STR:  CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT_4_PROC

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME:  SearchProtocol

CURRENT_IRQL:  d

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`02bc9278 fffff800`02cf0efa : 00000000`00000101 00000000`00000031 00000000`00000000 fffff880`03365180 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`02bc9280 fffff800`02ca3cd7 : 00000000`00000000 fffff800`00000002 00000000`00026160 fffffa80`09cccf60 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x4e2e
fffff880`02bc9310 fffff800`0320d895 : fffff800`03233460 fffff880`02bc94c0 fffff800`03233460 fffffa80`00000000 : nt!KeUpdateSystemTime+0x377
fffff880`02bc9410 fffff800`02c96713 : fffffa80`0dc1a340 00000000`6abffe01 fffffa80`06ca80c0 00000000`5e2fbc01 : hal!HalpHpetClockInterrupt+0x8d
fffff880`02bc9440 fffff800`02c7707b : 00000000`02a0e250 00000000`02a0eb00 00000000`00000020 fffff880`02bc9b60 : nt!KiInterruptDispatchNoLock+0x163
fffff880`02bc95d0 fffff800`02fa7a68 : fffffa80`0dc1a340 fffff880`02bc9b60 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000001 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x6fb0
fffff880`02bc9600 fffff800`02c99453 : ffffffff`ffffffff fffffa80`0cd2d9b0 00000000`02a0eb00 00000000`00000020 : nt!NtQueryInformationProcess+0xec7
fffff880`02bc9a70 00000000`775b14aa : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
00000000`02a0e1d8 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x775b14aa


STACK_COMMAND:  kb

SYMBOL_NAME:  ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: Unknown_Module

IMAGE_NAME:  Unknown_Image

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT_4_PROC_ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE

BUCKET_ID:  X64_CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT_4_PROC_ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

From this and what I'm finding online, seems to be related to the CPU.

 

Anyone else with this issue?


Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2379 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5594 Signins

25311 Page Views

  • Posts: 2379
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25311
  • Message 2 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-19, 14:12 PM
Looks like a motherboard failure to me.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

133 Posts

04-24-2012

Birmingham, UK

171 Signins

1424 Page Views

  • Posts: 133
  • Registered: ‎04-24-2012
  • Location: Birmingham, UK
  • Views: 1424
  • Message 3 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-19, 20:11 PM
Everytime I login here all I see is people with problems.

Even the engineers who have turned up several times on-site have had enough honestly.

Anyway, your machine is DEAD ON ARRIVAL. You need to get it sent back for a refund or a NEW replacement.
ThinkPad T420s (4174-HG6) i5-2540M 8GB RAM, 320GB HDD
ThinkPad T430s (2356-GDG) i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD x 2
Reply
Options

5 Posts

07-20-2012

Moscow, Russian Federation

35 Signins

222 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎07-20-2012
  • Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
  • Views: 222
  • Message 4 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-20, 8:06 AM
The problem potentially related to CPU.
See:
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itprohardware/thread/ed409cb4-6210-4346-9350-11ea398dcbc7

Contact support.
T430s 2352-CTO> i5-3320M; 14.0" HD+; 16 GB 1600Mhz; Intel SSD 520 Series 240GB; Ultrabay Seagate Momentus XT 750GB 7200rpm; KB with Backlit; Fingerprint; Centrino Ultimate-N 6300; BT 4.0; 720p HD Camera Mic; W7 Pro.
Reply
Options

133 Posts

04-24-2012

Birmingham, UK

171 Signins

1424 Page Views

  • Posts: 133
  • Registered: ‎04-24-2012
  • Location: Birmingham, UK
  • Views: 1424
  • Message 5 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-20, 8:19 AM
Yes, contact support, raise a complaint and demand a refund or if you really want a ThinkPad then demand a replacement as this is DOA.

Two box and this error already? Awful.
ThinkPad T420s (4174-HG6) i5-2540M 8GB RAM, 320GB HDD
ThinkPad T430s (2356-GDG) i5-3320M, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD x 2
Reply
Options

1 Posts

07-24-2012

Denmark

1 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2012
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 6
  • Message 6 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-24, 9:24 AM
I have exactly the same issue with my T430s, i7, 8GB.
Reply
Options

449 Posts

05-26-2012

Raleigh, North carolina

191 Signins

14841 Page Views

  • Posts: 449
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2012
  • Location: Raleigh, North carolina
  • Views: 14841
  • Message 7 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-25, 16:15 PM

Hello MacAddict,

 

The suggestion to call Customer support is great and I hope that they were able to help you resolve the issue you are having. A few things that I wanted to ask is what you were doing when the error happened? It can be related to CPU and can be caused for example when people are playing online games also can be an issues with Windows.

 

here: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-performance/windows-7-getting-stop-error-0x00000101/f35da596-20f3-4d0a-a7ca-3b8e884467dd

 

I would suggest to make sure all your drivers are updated and you have all the windows updates too.

 

Best Regards,

 

Hiro

Did you find a post Awesome? A response just Outstanding? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a pat on the back for helping you out!
Reply
Options

2379 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5594 Signins

25311 Page Views

  • Posts: 2379
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25311
  • Message 8 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-25, 18:08 PM
Is there anything in Power Manager to push up cooling. I notice since day one the dots are not near max for cooling even though perforance is at Max. There does not appear to be any advance settings to alter the responce.

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

142 Posts

12-08-2010

TORONTO

3793 Signins

14587 Page Views

  • Posts: 142
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2010
  • Location: TORONTO
  • Views: 14587
  • Message 9 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-25, 19:01 PM

"Everytime I login here all I see is people with problems."

QUOTE:   Soduku.

 

1) This is a "Community Help Forum" for people with a problem seeking a resolution.

 

2) There is no requirement to "login" to view the "goings-on" here, only that to "post" a reply(s).

 

3) A "Good Attitude" when asking a question goes a long way, as it does when with a reply.

 

4) Lenovo provides this Forum at their time/expense. I, among most, are thankful as so should

be everyone else.

 

 

(I do not nor have I ever, worked for either Lenovo and/or IBM.)

 

I love my LENOVO.
T 410s, WIN 7, 128 SSD, 64 Ult.


I do not work for LENOVO.
Reply
Options

449 Posts

05-26-2012

Raleigh, North carolina

191 Signins

14841 Page Views

  • Posts: 449
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2012
  • Location: Raleigh, North carolina
  • Views: 14841
  • Message 10 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-25, 19:46 PM

hello tripplec,

 

I looked into your question about the Power Manager and found a ThinkVantage Power Manager Deployment Guide

 

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/tpmmst.pdf

 

on page 9 under policy settings shows the only settings you do for Optimizing Fan Control.

 

Best Regards,

 

Hiro

 

Did you find a post Awesome? A response just Outstanding? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a pat on the back for helping you out!
Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-17-2011

US

30 Signins

216 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 216
  • Message 11 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-07-25, 19:50 PM

So I haven't had any more issues wthout doing anything. Perhaps it just needed a warm-up period...

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

53 Posts

08-09-2012

Santa Clara

77 Signins

551 Page Views

  • Posts: 53
  • Registered: ‎08-09-2012
  • Location: Santa Clara
  • Views: 551
  • Message 12 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-08-14, 17:38 PM

Hi, I saw you said your issue solved. Have you met BSOD with stop error 101 again after you mark your issue solved? I also have this issue almost same with you. I tried many approaches to solve it but had no result.... Here is my issue:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T430s-2352-Blue-Screen-and-Stop-Code-101-Issue/m-p/829573/highlight/false#M64882

Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-17-2011

US

30 Signins

216 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 216
  • Message 13 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-08-14, 17:44 PM
No, I haven't gotten any more BSOD's. But your post made me look at your thread and it seems it is more widespread than what I thought which is concerning... Hopefully we won't get these issues once our end users start getting these laptops.
Reply
Options

53 Posts

08-09-2012

Santa Clara

77 Signins

551 Page Views

  • Posts: 53
  • Registered: ‎08-09-2012
  • Location: Santa Clara
  • Views: 551
  • Message 14 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-08-14, 17:53 PM

Oh, I see. I am always worried about getting BSOD when I use it. Did your BSOD happen under some certain circumstance? 

Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-17-2011

US

30 Signins

216 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 216
  • Message 15 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-08-14, 17:54 PM
No, both of them were totally random.

When they did happen, I had the AC adapter plugged in, external monitor (VGA), keyboard, mouse and LAN cable.
Reply
Options

53 Posts

08-09-2012

Santa Clara

77 Signins

551 Page Views

  • Posts: 53
  • Registered: ‎08-09-2012
  • Location: Santa Clara
  • Views: 551
  • Message 16 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-08-14, 18:03 PM

I see, thank you very much!

Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2012

Canada

62 Signins

444 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 444
  • Message 17 of 24

Re: T430s - Stop Error 101

2012-09-29, 0:46 AM

wrote:
No, both of them were totally random.

When they did happen, I had the AC adapter plugged in, external monitor (VGA), keyboard, mouse and LAN cable.

Guys, I had a same problem but it looks like it stopped appearing once I changed "Link state power management" setting under Power Manager from "Maximum power savings" to "Off" when under AC power. Default setting was wrong for sure. 

 

[Edit:] That suggestion above did not help. It crashed again, but this setting should probably be changed anyway.

 

I have suggestion for lenovo to test if machines are actually working instead of dropping them on concrete and blasting them with sand. How about turning them on before shipping?

Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-15-2013

Guadalajara, Mexico

10 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2013
  • Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Views: 65
  • Message 18 of 24

Re: T430s - 2355A75 Stop error 101

2013-02-18, 17:04 PM

I have the same problem is random. Some time i not even working on my computer. ones or 2 times per day.

 

I have a T430s 2355A75, BIOS G7ET29WW (1.11) 2012-05-24 (1.05) i5-3320M with 4GB RAM and 180 GB SSD.

 

Please help me to solve this error. 

 

Link to picture

 

Moderator note; picture(s) totalling >50K converted to link(s) Forum Rules

Reply
Options

2738 Posts

12-22-2008

CA

12075 Signins

172782 Page Views

  • Posts: 2738
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 172782
  • Message 19 of 24

Re: T430s - 2355A75 Stop error 101

2013-02-18, 18:05 PM

wrote:

I have the same problem is random. Some time i not even working on my computer. ones or 2 times per day.

 

I have a T430s 2355A75, BIOS G7ET29WW (1.11) 2012-05-24 (1.05) i5-3320M with 4GB RAM and 180 GB SSD.

 

Please help me to solve this error.  

 


This is a known problem with early T430s. See T430s-2352 Blue Screen and Stop Code 101 IssueLenovo will replace the motherboard of ypur T430s under warranty.

 

As for randomness, I've had this problem maybe 3 or 4 times in the past 6 months, always overnight when the T430s is powered on but idle. Yet others like you seem to experience it much more frequently.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman •  English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-15-2013

Guadalajara, Mexico

10 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2013
  • Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Views: 65
  • Message 20 of 24

Re: T430s - 2355A75 Stop error 101

2013-02-18, 18:23 PM

I change the Power configuration to maximum performance. I am running Win 7-64 bits profesional. 

Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-15-2013

Guadalajara, Mexico

10 Signins

65 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2013
  • Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Views: 65
  • Message 21 of 24

Re: T430s - 2355A75 Stop error 101

2013-02-21, 21:28 PM

Sometimes it's also get freeze and hard drive indicator don't flash. I have to reset using power botton. I may damage Windows soon. Last time was during a Windows update from Molex IT corporate. 

 

My computer has Windows 7, 64 bits. I don't know it making the problem.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save