Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Message 1 of 11 (610 Views)

T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?

I have just ordered a new T430s. I want to first clean install XP and then clean install Win7. I have an XP licence but I need to somehow get the Win7 licence from the install files on the HDD. Any advice?

I will have plenty of space after cloning the 180GB SDD to a Crucial 512GB SDD. I will install from the Crucial.

T430s 2356GCG [Win7/WinXP dual], Crucial 512Gb SSD, 16Gb RAM
T410s [Win XP], Crucial 256Gb C300 SSD, Gobi 2000
+ others
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,413
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
Message 2 of 11 (608 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?


MikeAustin wrote:

I have just ordered a new T430s. I want to first clean install XP and then clean install Win7. I have an XP licence but I need to somehow get the Win7 licence from the install files on the HDD. Any advice?

I will have plenty of space after cloning the 180GB SDD to a Crucial 512GB SDD. I will install from the Crucial.


My advice would be to run Windows XP in a virtual machine.  I assume the T430s is coming with Windows 7.  I would add Oracle VirtualBox or VMWare Workstation for your virtualization product and install Windows XP in the VM.

Punch Card
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Message 3 of 11 (606 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?


ThorsHammer wrote:

My advice would be to run Windows XP in a virtual machine.  I assume the T430s is coming with Windows 7.  I would add Oracle VirtualBox or VMWare Workstation for your virtualization product and install Windows XP in the VM.

I used Win7 for a few months some time ago, including XP Virtual Machine. I did not like Win7 - and the Virtual Machine was too slow and not as compatible as I would have liked. I reverted back to full XP. Unfortunately, my work now requires me to be able to run Win7 - so a dual boot is my best option.

T430s 2356GCG [Win7/WinXP dual], Crucial 512Gb SSD, 16Gb RAM
T410s [Win XP], Crucial 256Gb C300 SSD, Gobi 2000
+ others
Punch Card
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Message 4 of 11 (565 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?

I have now installed Windows 7 (64) and Windows XP (32) on a dual boot. Windows 7 has been set up with the AHCI driver but the AHCI driver provided by Lenovo for XP (g1im15ww) does not seem to work (I get a BSOD). So I have to switch AHCI/Compatibility when I change OS. Has anyone been able to get a working AHCI driver on XP?

T430s 2356GCG [Win7/WinXP dual], Crucial 512Gb SSD, 16Gb RAM
T410s [Win XP], Crucial 256Gb C300 SSD, Gobi 2000
+ others
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,249
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: CA
Message 5 of 11 (559 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?

SATA is not supported in XP SP1 or later by default. Some oem's added the SATA drive into their own packages but normally Compatibility mode is required to boot XP.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Punch Card
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Message 6 of 11 (557 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?


tripplec wrote:
SATA is not supported in XP SP1 or later by default. Some oem's added the SATA drive into their own packages but normally Compatibility mode is required to boot XP.

Yes. I installed XP/SP3 in the t430s via usb. I run XP/SP3 on my t410s using AHCI.

T430s 2356GCG [Win7/WinXP dual], Crucial 512Gb SSD, 16Gb RAM
T410s [Win XP], Crucial 256Gb C300 SSD, Gobi 2000
+ others
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,186
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Location: US
Message 7 of 11 (542 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?

You can add the sata driver to your winxp setup disc using a freeware app called nLite, or you can slip it in during settup, however you will need a floppy drive to do it that way. You can also add the driver after the install, but a registry edit is required to enable the driver.

 

Also keep in mind that your version of winxp 32bit is limited to about 3gb of ram. There are 32bit versions that support much more memory but they aren't generally available to the public.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Punch Card
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Message 8 of 11 (528 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?


TuuS wrote:

You can add the sata driver to your winxp setup disc using a freeware app called nLite, or you can slip it in during settup, however you will need a floppy drive to do it that way. You can also add the driver after the install, but a registry edit is required to enable the driver.

 

Also keep in mind that your version of winxp 32bit is limited to about 3gb of ram. There are 32bit versions that support much more memory but they aren't generally available to the public.


Yes, I used nLite and rmPrepUsb to create my usb install. I think the driver has been released since I did that. The problem is that, if the driver cannot be installed when XP is up and running, the same driver will not work in the initial install.

T430s 2356GCG [Win7/WinXP dual], Crucial 512Gb SSD, 16Gb RAM
T410s [Win XP], Crucial 256Gb C300 SSD, Gobi 2000
+ others
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,186
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Location: US
Message 9 of 11 (525 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?

The driver can be installed after windows is installed, you just need to do some registry edits to enable it. 

 

 

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 8gb ram.
Punch Card
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Message 10 of 11 (519 Views)

Re: T430s - dual boot XP and Win7 on new pc?


TuuS wrote:

The driver can be installed after windows is installed, you just need to do some registry edits to enable it. 

 


I force installed the driver by selecting the aAHCI file. Of course, Windows XP complains (it did when I clean installed Windows 7), but I rebooted any changed the Bios to AHCI and Windows XP BSOD'ed. What registry edits do I need?

T430s 2356GCG [Win7/WinXP dual], Crucial 512Gb SSD, 16Gb RAM
T410s [Win XP], Crucial 256Gb C300 SSD, Gobi 2000
+ others
Top Kudoed Authors