cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Theironlefty
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 600
Message 1 of 15

T440P TDP Question

Hi, i have recently got a t440p and i have ran into a power throttling issue, this only happens when GPU is loaded the HD4600 and the cpu is utilized a bit, i have even undervolted but it seems to power throttle, is there any way to raise the tdp limit to 47 instead of 37 without flashing the bios? i have tried throttlestop's "Disable and Lock Turbo power limits" but it doesn't work.

also my temperatures are not a problem and are quite far away from throttling temp.

 

F2SnZYB

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,156
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 581
Message 2 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

Welcome to the forum!

 

Which CPU and GPU does your T440p have? And which AC adapter are you using? 

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
Theironlefty
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 573
Message 3 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

Hi Tasurinchi, My model has an I5-4300M and a Intel HD 4600, this model doesn't include the nvidia gpu.

The AC Adapter is a 90W charger (ADLX90NLC2A model number).

unclewebb9
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-20-2017
Location: CA
Views: 551
Message 4 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

Are the turbo power limits adjustable in the ThrottleStop TPL window?  My Lenovo Y510P with a 4th Gen CPU locks these power limits in the bios so they cannot be adjusted.  Post a picture of the TPL window.

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,156
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 546
Message 5 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

That combination shouldn't cause throttling, (assuming the battery is connected). Are you using a docking station? Please also check in the BIOS under "Config" / "Power" that you have set the options to "Maximum Performance".

 

.

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
Theironlefty
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 534
Message 6 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

I am not using a docking station and yes in the bios maximum performance is selected when on AC

 

Theironlefty
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 533
Message 7 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

I can but it doesn't change anything, i can also adjust them via XTU.

I have also found out that when prime95 testing the cpu gets current limited and raising that doesn't work either.

TOK.PNG

 

unclewebb9
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-20-2017
Location: CA
Views: 519
Message 8 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

Try setting both of the turbo power limits to 47 and set the time limit to the default value of 28 seconds.

 

The Intel rated TDP for the 4300M is 37 Watts.  

 

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/76347/intel-core-i5-4300m-processor-3m-cache-up...

 

Intel CPUs use a duplicate set of turbo power limits.  The secondary limits in the Memory Mapped I/O can be accessed with RWEverything.  It is possible that the secondary long term turbo power limit is locked to 37 Watts.  

 

On many of the newer 7th and 8th Gen Lenovo laptops, it is easy to go beyond the rated TDP.  On the 4th Gen, many manufacturers were more conservative and set more obstacles and locks to prevent this.

Theironlefty
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 515
Message 9 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

Nope that didnt work as well.

unclewebb9
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-20-2017
Location: CA
Views: 511
Message 10 of 15

Re: T440P TDP Question

If you want to investigate further, download RW Everything and have a look at the two memory locations, FED159A0 and FED159A4.  This is where the secondary power limits are located.  The 8 in my picture indicates that the lock bit is set.  One bit locks both the long and short power limits and the time limit.  Post a screenshot if you need help understanding what is in there.

 

https://i.imgur.com/XP483wZ.png

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors