Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chadib
Paper Tape
Views: 1,765
Message 1 of 9

T440p shuts down after closing the lid

hi,

I have a lenovo T440p laptop that i have been using for 6 months now. newly the laptop often and unexpectedly turns off rather then going into sleep mode after i close the lid.Also, sometimes, after i close the lid the display turns off and the laptop becomes irresponsive but do not enter sleep mode. the only way is to force reboot the laptop. i have installed all the required updates proposed by the thinkvantage utility but the problem is persisting.

what could be the reason for this behaviour and how could it be solved?

dave67
Punch Card
Views: 1,751
Message 2 of 9

Re: T440p shuts down after closing the lid

what is the setting under power management setting for when the lid is closed?
chadib
Paper Tape
Views: 1,738
Message 3 of 9

it is set to sleep mode

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 1,731
Message 4 of 9

When you restart after the lid was closed, are there related messages in the event log?

Rich

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
chadib
Paper Tape
Views: 1,730
Message 5 of 9

the usual : windows has shut down unexpectedly. resume window normally or star safe mode ...

dave67
Punch Card
Views: 1,725
Message 6 of 9

I asume you are using windows 8 . How much ram does the system have? Try this set all the battery settings to sleep mode see if that changes the issue you are having. If that does fix the shut down than us may not have enough ram to use hibernate mode. check your power management driver version you have installed. here the link