Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ghomri
Paper Tape
Views: 207
Message 1 of 5

T480 - CPU clocks down to 500MHz when Photoshop is open

Hi, i have encountered a problem with my Thinkpad T480 laptop (i7-8550U, 2x8GB 2400MHz, GeForce MX150 2GB) i use at work. I'm a front-end designer and use Photoshop a lot. But i have noticed over several months, that when Photoshop is open my whole machine slows down and starts to lag. Photoshop is really laggy, and it takes several seconds from a press on the mouse, to see something happening on the screen. And it's not only in Photoshop, but Chrome almost doesn't work and almost crashes, writting text in a editor on the keyboard takes several seconds to appear on screen, and even opening the Task manager is a nightmare. 

The fun things it looks like the CPU, RAM, Disk and GPU usage, they arent doing much. The CPU usage sits only between 10-25%. The laptop is always connected to power and fully charged. Set to bedst performance in power management. 

But today i noticed that the CPU speed on only running around 500-800MHz, and sometimes jumps up to 1GHz while Photoshop is open. If i close Photoshop the clock speed jumps back to its normal 3.6GHz. I have tried to check the thermals, to see if the clocks drops because of throtteling. But the temperatur is only around 50c, with a lot of headroom to 100TJ max.

I have attached a screenshot from desktop.

Thanks for feedback and help.

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Views: 143
Message 2 of 5

Re: T480 - CPU clocks down to 500MHz when Photoshop is open