cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
icelava
Token Ring
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-19-2016
Location: SG
Views: 1,490
Message 1 of 6

T480 comes with both GPUs

I ordered a T480 with the Geforce MX150 option. Was surprised to see my delivered unit with Intel UHD 620 and simultaneously active with the Geforce GPU. The Intel GPU however is the default display adapter.

 

ThinkPad T480 with both Intel and NVIDIA GPUs.JPGIntel UHD 620 is active display adapterI've never quite seen this before. Desktop mainboard BIOS would typically disable the onboard GPU if slotted with an actual video card (leaving the OS blind to its presence), and all my previous laptops that I configured with a discrete GPU would have just that alone.

 

Am I supposed to disable the UHD 620 in Device Manager in order to force the Geforce to take over? I don't see anything in the BIOS that can influence this (in fact it seems to suggest the UHD is in charge with its shared memory setting).

icelava
Token Ring
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-19-2016
Location: SG
Views: 1,406
Message 2 of 6

Re: T480 comes with both GPUs

I read that it was necessary to launch NVIDIA control panel and manually select programs to be assigned to the GeForce MX150 GPU (GPU 1). After I did that I still saw the processes (like Edge and Chrome) still use GPU 0 (Intel UHD 620).

However, after several rounds of reboot to figure out another annoying problem with Windows not remembering drive letter assignments, I saw that Edge and Chrome finally could use GPU 1.

Unfortunately, the software that I most wanted to use the GeForce GPU - Movavi Video Editor - while seemingly using GPU 1, still cannot recognise its presence and only offers the hardware acceleration option for Intel GPU.

https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comments/byibzr/t480_with_both_gpus/
Support Specialist
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎08-01-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,363
Message 3 of 6

Re: T480 comes with both GPUs

Hi icelava!

 

We've checked from the support site of  the Movavi Video Editor and they are requiring for you to have NVIDIA® CUDA™ to accelarate or use the Nvidia graphics card with the app. 

 

"Using of NVIDIA® CUDA™ provides video decoding/encoding acceleration on a CUDA-enabled graphics card GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) up to 5x. As Movavi Video Editor shifts video processing from your computer's CPU to NVIDIA's GPU, your computer’s CPU will be fully available for use by other tasks" 

 

There is an option for you to use Nvidia GPU acceleration.

 

Regards,

 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,318
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 1,354
Message 4 of 6

Re: T480 comes with both GPUs

The Intel graphics are not in a GPU; they are part of the CPU and all similar machines have the same integrated graphics, whether or not they have a discrete GPU.  The integrated graphics are fine for everything except graphics-intensive products.    


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
icelava
Token Ring
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-19-2016
Location: SG
Views: 1,343
Message 5 of 6

Re: T480 comes with both GPUs


@Jerry_Lenovo

 

There is an option for you to use Nvidia GPU acceleration.

 


There is an option there, but it's disabled. I can only enable Intel graphics acceleration. I suspect it's largely a factor of whether Movavi checks for the presence of multiple GPUs; in which case it only appears to grab the first available GPU 0 and not bother querying further. I am currently asking their techsupport for the actual logic sequence they implement.

icelava
Token Ring
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-19-2016
Location: SG
Views: 1,342
Message 6 of 6

Re: T480 comes with both GPUs


@richk wrote:

The Intel graphics are not in a GPU; they are part of the CPU     


Yes, it may not be as powerful and feature rich, but logically WIndows and apps just treat it as another GPU. They are listed as GPU 0 and GPU 1; they don't try to perform extra labelling tasks to demote GPU 0 as being "lesser".

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors