English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

02-03-2010

US

2 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 42
  • Message 1 of 13

T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-02-03, 16:35 PM

I have a T500 and the specs say it will support 8Gb of DDR3. I am running WIn6 x64 and I updated the bios to the latest and greatest. Unfortunately when I put in 8Gb of memory I get some post errors. Each dimm works by itself, so the memory is good, which it is brand new so it should be, any thoughts? Frustrating since I have almost $500 invested in memory.

 

I purchased 8Gb DDR3 1066 PC3 8500

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-19-2010

Colorado

1 Signins

16 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-19-2010
  • Location: Colorado
  • Views: 16
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-02-19, 22:41 PM

tjnf04, Glad to see I'm not the only one with the exact same problem.  I am running Win 7 x64.  I can put in each new Corsair 4G DDR3 1066 PC3 8500 SODIMM separately and no problems, so I know the memory is good as well.  I can also put in new 1x4G and an old 1x1G for total of 5G and it works fine.  But put in 2x4G and get the beeps 1-short, pause, 3-short, pause, 3-short, pause, 1-short when powering up. So much for supporting 8G!  Hope we can get some answers soon!

Reply
Options

127 Posts

02-13-2009

Bangkok, Thailand

1013 Signins

2251 Page Views

  • Posts: 127
  • Registered: ‎02-13-2009
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Views: 2251
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-02-20, 0:08 AM
My two cents: I have been using the ThinkPad T500 (type 2082-5XU) with two sticks of 4GB DDR3 1066 MHz and 64-bit Windows 7 Enterprise Edition without any problem. I just replaced the two sticks with 4GB DDR3 1333 MHz last night and it has been working great. The chips in all sticks are made by Hynix.

Twitter @thitiv | Work | ThinkPad W520 (4270-CTO) Core i7-2960XM 2.7/3.7 GHz | 16GB Kingston HyperX PnP DDR3-1866
2 x 256GB Crucial M4 & C300 SSDs | Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 | Ericsson F5521gw WWAN | Ultrabay Blu-ray Burner
NVIDIA Quadro 2000M | 15.6" FHD 1920x1080 | ThinkPad Battery 55++ (9-cell) & Battery 27++ (9-cell slice)

Reply
Options

165 Posts

02-10-2010

Vancouver, BC, Canada

410 Signins

3291 Page Views

  • Posts: 165
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2010
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Views: 3291
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-02-20, 0:21 AM

 


wrote:
My two cents: I have been using the ThinkPad T500 (type 2082-5XU) with two sticks of 4GB DDR3 1066 MHz and 64-bit Windows 7 Enterprise Edition without any problem. I just replaced the two sticks with 4GB DDR3 1333 MHz last night and it has been working great. The chips in all sticks are made by Hynix.

 

Out of curiosity, why would you upgrade your sticks from 1066 to 1333 on a T500?  Isn't the FSB limited to 1066 anyway? 

 

_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T510 : i5-540M : 8GB PC-10600 : 500GB 7200rpm : 15.6" HD+ : Intel 6300 : Win7 Pro 64 : 9Cell
Ordered 2/Feb/2010 : Shipped 22/Feb/2010 : Received 3/Mar/2010
Reply
Options

71 Posts

07-28-2009

Argentina

1319 Signins

4959 Page Views

  • Posts: 71
  • Registered: ‎07-28-2009
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 4959
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-02-20, 0:25 AM

same question....

Reply
Options

127 Posts

02-13-2009

Bangkok, Thailand

1013 Signins

2251 Page Views

  • Posts: 127
  • Registered: ‎02-13-2009
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Views: 2251
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-02-20, 2:00 AM

The 1333 MHz CL9 sticks run at 1066 MHz CL7 in my ThinkPad T500. It's confirmed by CPU-Z.

I was offerred to exchange the 1066 for 1333 at no extra cost. It would benefit me in the future if I want to put one of the 4GB sticks in a newer Core i5 / i7 machine.

Twitter @thitiv | Work | ThinkPad W520 (4270-CTO) Core i7-2960XM 2.7/3.7 GHz | 16GB Kingston HyperX PnP DDR3-1866
2 x 256GB Crucial M4 & C300 SSDs | Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 | Ericsson F5521gw WWAN | Ultrabay Blu-ray Burner
NVIDIA Quadro 2000M | 15.6" FHD 1920x1080 | ThinkPad Battery 55++ (9-cell) & Battery 27++ (9-cell slice)

Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-19-2010

San Diego

3 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-19-2010
  • Location: San Diego
  • Views: 50
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-08-19, 0:32 AM

Is there any solution to this?   I have a T500 and just got 2 Corsair DDR3 1066MHz 4GB CM3X8GSDKIT1066 and when I have one or both in the t500 I get the 1-3-3-1 beep error that indicates a memory issue.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-19-2010

Kuwait

8 Signins

197 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-19-2010
  • Location: Kuwait
  • Views: 197
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-08-19, 19:20 PM

I have the same issue on my T400 and I see that nobody has an answer on it :-(

 

Reply
Options

374 Posts

02-13-2009

US

228 Signins

4335 Page Views

  • Posts: 374
  • Registered: ‎02-13-2009
  • Location: US
  • Views: 4335
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-08-19, 21:40 PM
This isn't quite a Lenovo issue but memory has been getting pretty lousy as of late. Manufacturers are trying to sell lesser quality memory at higher rates. I have been finding lately especially in the case of laptops where heat is a bit of an issue, that is hard to find memory that is stable at it's rated speed, clocking down faster memory usually results in better stability.
Thinkpad T500-2081 CTO | T9400 2.53GHz | 8 GB RAM | ATI HD3650 + Intel GM45 | 15.4" LED WXGA+ | Windows 10 | ATI Catalyst 13.1 (non-switchable)
Thinkpad 390x | PII 333 | 256mb ram | NeoMagic 256AV | SVGA LCD | OS/2 v4.52
Reply
Options

374 Posts

02-13-2009

US

228 Signins

4335 Page Views

  • Posts: 374
  • Registered: ‎02-13-2009
  • Location: US
  • Views: 4335
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: T500 Memory Upgrade

2010-08-19, 21:44 PM

 


wrote:

Is there any solution to this?   I have a T500 and just got 2 Corsair DDR3 1066MHz 4GB CM3X8GSDKIT1066 and when I have one or both in the t500 I get the 1-3-3-1 beep error that indicates a memory issue.


I would recommend contacting corsair, especially if this set was sold as being compatable with these machines.    You may need to change some bios settings in order to get it to work though. 

 

Thinkpad T500-2081 CTO | T9400 2.53GHz | 8 GB RAM | ATI HD3650 + Intel GM45 | 15.4" LED WXGA+ | Windows 10 | ATI Catalyst 13.1 (non-switchable)
Thinkpad 390x | PII 333 | 256mb ram | NeoMagic 256AV | SVGA LCD | OS/2 v4.52
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save