Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

T500 cannot change brightness

Hello,

 

I just bought a T500 with Windows 7 installed.  It seems pretty good and all, but I can't use the function keys (or the settings) to change the screen brightness while running Windows 7.  My machine recognizes the key presses and can change brightness; however, to change the brightness, I have to restart it  My guess is that the video driver isn't working or there's something I need to adjust in the bios.  Does anyone have any suggestions/solutions (or a link to an updated ATI Mobility Radeon 3650 driver for Windows 7)?

 

Thanks! Smiley Happy

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2009
Location: Massachusetts
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

 

 

I just purchased a loaded T500 with win7 and had the same issue out of box with brightness. I was able to correct it by installing latest driver for monitor on lenovo support site. Hope this helps.

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Was it this driver that you installed:  http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-62923 ?

 

Thanks!

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2009
Location: Massachusetts
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Well, I went to the device manager in windows, clicked on monitors then thinkpad display 1280x800, then the driver tab, then update driver...took a few min and all is now well.

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Yeah... I tried that.  The function buttons still don't work.  Smiley Sad   Is your graphics card integrated or discrete?  Maybe it's an ATI 3650 driver that I need...

Punch Card
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
Location: Edinburgh, UK
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Hi Sharon227

 

I have just bought the same machine, and I, too, have this issue. Whilst it's not a fix, you can work around the issue by right clicking on Battery, and select Energy Saving option on Switchable Graphics. Presumably, this is issue that will be addressed with a software update by Lenovo. I've got a case running just now with Lenovov support, so will phone them and tell them that it's a known issue, and the nature of the workaround, as it may help them get a proper fix.

 

HTH 

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-13-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Thanks a lot!  Smiley Happy Switching it to the Energy Saving option allows the brightness to change.  I hope they come up with a software fix, and don't end up calling this a feature (like most other companies do Smiley Tongue ).

Punch Card
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
Location: Edinburgh, UK
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Hi again, Sharon227,

 

Lenovo Tech Support sent me this email today, and it appears to provide a permanent fix:

 

"Good afternoon Sir.

Following our discussion, please refer to the links below. The first one is for the Power Management driver and if you will check the Summary of changes, the latest version fixes some brightness issues.

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-70601.html


Please install this, restart the machine and check again the brightness settings. Alos the correct link for the hotkey driver is this one:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-68000

 

Hope this provides the solution you need.

Punch Card
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
Location: Edinburgh, UK
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Ignore previous posting by me; the 'fix' is not one. Screen brightness still cannot be adjusted nder High Performance mode.

 

I will persist with Tech Support, and update.

Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-17-2009
Location: NC
0 Kudos

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

Any updates AlterEgo?

 

I just got a T500 (2081-CTO) and I have this issue out of the box.