English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Canada

9 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 160
  • Message 1 of 18

T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-14, 0:11 AM

Hello,

 

I just bought a T500 with Windows 7 installed.  It seems pretty good and all, but I can't use the function keys (or the settings) to change the screen brightness while running Windows 7.  My machine recognizes the key presses and can change brightness; however, to change the brightness, I have to restart it  My guess is that the video driver isn't working or there's something I need to adjust in the bios.  Does anyone have any suggestions/solutions (or a link to an updated ATI Mobility Radeon 3650 driver for Windows 7)?

 

Thanks! :)

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Massachusetts

19 Signins

260 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Massachusetts
  • Views: 260
  • Message 2 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-14, 3:50 AM

 

 

I just purchased a loaded T500 with win7 and had the same issue out of box with brightness. I was able to correct it by installing latest driver for monitor on lenovo support site. Hope this helps.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Canada

9 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 160
  • Message 3 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-14, 3:59 AM

Was it this driver that you installed:  http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-62923 ?

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Massachusetts

19 Signins

260 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Massachusetts
  • Views: 260
  • Message 4 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-15, 2:34 AM

Well, I went to the device manager in windows, clicked on monitors then thinkpad display 1280x800, then the driver tab, then update driver...took a few min and all is now well.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Canada

9 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 160
  • Message 5 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-15, 3:31 AM

Yeah... I tried that.  The function buttons still don't work.  :(   Is your graphics card integrated or discrete?  Maybe it's an ATI 3650 driver that I need...

Reply
Options

35 Posts

11-15-2009

Edinburgh, UK

56 Signins

299 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2009
  • Location: Edinburgh, UK
  • Views: 299
  • Message 6 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-15, 19:32 PM

Hi Sharon227

 

I have just bought the same machine, and I, too, have this issue. Whilst it's not a fix, you can work around the issue by right clicking on Battery, and select Energy Saving option on Switchable Graphics. Presumably, this is issue that will be addressed with a software update by Lenovo. I've got a case running just now with Lenovov support, so will phone them and tell them that it's a known issue, and the nature of the workaround, as it may help them get a proper fix.

 

HTH 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Canada

9 Signins

160 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 160
  • Message 7 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-15, 21:07 PM

Thanks a lot!  :) Switching it to the Energy Saving option allows the brightness to change.  I hope they come up with a software fix, and don't end up calling this a feature (like most other companies do :P ).

Reply
Options

35 Posts

11-15-2009

Edinburgh, UK

56 Signins

299 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2009
  • Location: Edinburgh, UK
  • Views: 299
  • Message 8 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-16, 20:04 PM

Hi again, Sharon227,

 

Lenovo Tech Support sent me this email today, and it appears to provide a permanent fix:

 

"Good afternoon Sir.

Following our discussion, please refer to the links below. The first one is for the Power Management driver and if you will check the Summary of changes, the latest version fixes some brightness issues.

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-70601.html


Please install this, restart the machine and check again the brightness settings. Alos the correct link for the hotkey driver is this one:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-68000

 

Hope this provides the solution you need.

Reply
Options

35 Posts

11-15-2009

Edinburgh, UK

56 Signins

299 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2009
  • Location: Edinburgh, UK
  • Views: 299
  • Message 9 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-17, 6:16 AM

Ignore previous posting by me; the 'fix' is not one. Screen brightness still cannot be adjusted nder High Performance mode.

 

I will persist with Tech Support, and update.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-17-2009

NC

7 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 39
  • Message 10 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-17, 13:48 PM

Any updates AlterEgo?

 

I just got a T500 (2081-CTO) and I have this issue out of the box.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

10-18-2009

USA

26 Signins

177 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 177
  • Message 11 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-17, 23:07 PM

Copy that, same issue here. A couple of other issues as well, but I'll address them in a new thread...

Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-17-2009

NC

7 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 39
  • Message 12 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-17, 23:36 PM

Care to share?  I cannot even see my screen to see what is what; like looking at the display though a misquito net.

Reply
Options

35 Posts

11-15-2009

Edinburgh, UK

56 Signins

299 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2009
  • Location: Edinburgh, UK
  • Views: 299
  • Message 13 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-18, 8:41 AM

No update, except that I have been moved to Level 2 support, whatever that means.

 

I have the same machine (2081-CTO), and I am also finding the wireless connection to my home wireless network to be extremely flakey; it drops the connection frequently, then picks it up at 99%. I replaced a 'stopgap' £400 Samsung with the Lenovo, and it was rock steady, never a problem. I realise that some of the issues may be Windows 7 related, but I am getting extremely frustrated by this, as I have now done a re-install to factory settings twice, to try to identify the issue. Not at all happy, as I have had the machine for 10 days, but cannot use it becuase I won't install the software I need until the issues are sorted.

 

Will let you know the results of the 'Level 2' support.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-18-2009

Malaysia

4 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2009
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 42
  • Message 14 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-18, 10:18 AM

pls update to the latest verson of ATI graphics adapter

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-73641

 

This is the summary of changes

 

Version 8.641.1.1-090824a-089811C

  • (Fix) Fixed an issue where the LCD brightness could not be changed when the graphics mode was set to high performance on starting the computer.

I tried and it works well

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-14-2009

Massachusetts

19 Signins

260 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-14-2009
  • Location: Massachusetts
  • Views: 260
  • Message 15 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-18, 22:42 PM

I have a 2081-CTO with win 7 & discrete graphics.

Reply
Options

35 Posts

11-15-2009

Edinburgh, UK

56 Signins

299 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2009
  • Location: Edinburgh, UK
  • Views: 299
  • Message 16 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-19, 20:33 PM

I updated my ATI graphics driver, and I am now very happy; all is as it should be. Why do the Tech Support guys not read the forums?!?

 

Many thanks for the info on the driver.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-17-2009

NC

7 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 39
  • Message 17 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-19, 21:29 PM

YES!!!! The wireless stays up on my MBP fine, but as soon as I start up the Lenovo it knocks my MBP off and then the Lenovo stays up for a few minutes or a few seconds.  But it keeps dropping.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-17-2009

NC

7 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 39
  • Message 18 of 18

Re: T500 cannot change brightness

2009-11-19, 21:30 PM

I updated the graphics driver as well, but everytime I startup I need to change the brightness.  EVERY TIME... That is a whole lot of corn.  Corn is slang for bull crap or **bleep**

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save