Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Highlighted
Serial Port
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Location: UPstate NY
0 Kudos

T500, clean install, Fn-F5 wifi does not work...

I recently did clean install of Vista x64 to my T500 a while ago.

I can't recall now if the wireless drivers were installed through MS update or through ThinkVantage System Update.

It is an Intel WiFi Link 5100 AGN.

Yesterday I discovered that Fn-F5 does not turn on the wireless in this laptop.

How can I fix this??

I do need to use wireless from time to time.

Thank you, Tom

Token Ring
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: T500, clean install, Fn-F5 wifi does not work...

I had the same issue with being able to turn the Bluetooth radio on and off.  You have to install the Hotkey driver so that the Fn keys will work properly.

T500 - P8600 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo, Modded - 4GB Patriot DDR3 and 320GB Caviar Black 7200rpm drive with Ati HD3650 and Catalyst 9.6 modded drivers - Vista Business 32bit stripped down to bare bones with VM's from Ubuntu to Win7RC1 64-bit.
Serial Port
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Location: UPstate NY
0 Kudos

Re: T500, clean install, Fn-F5 wifi does not work...

I installed the hotkey driver from the Lenovo support site and Fn-F5 still does not start wifi.

 

Maybe it has to be un-docked...I will try this next.

 

Anybody with any other suggestions??

 

Thank you, Tom

Lenovo FTSS - Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-30-2008
Location: Germany
0 Kudos

Re: T500, clean install, Fn-F5 wifi does not work...

I assume you installed the WLAN drivers using the INF method.

To be able to use the FN-F5 key you need to install the MSI package. There is a way to get rid of the unwanted Intel profile manager which installs along with the drivers (Intel ProSet) by means of tweaking the MSI package with a tool like ORCA. This is a bit tricky as generating the TRANSFORM file needs a deeper understanding of what can be omitted and what is mandatory.

 

Anyway as a first shot I would try to manually install the Intel drivers and then install the Hotkeys again.

cYa ... Dirk©

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
As money not spent, won't make anyone richer
so knowledge not shared, won't make anyone wiser.

... and no, I'm not working for DELL
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
0 Kudos

Re: T500, clean install, Fn-F5 wifi does not work...

Also, a another good way to install the driver without getting the Intel PROSet is by following the instructions from the README...  Smiley Tongue

 

  1. Start Windows Vista and logon with administrative privileges.
2. Double-click the driver package to extract it to your hard drive. (Follow
default extraction settings.)
3. Click Start, select All Programs, select Accessories, then click Run...
4. Specify C:\DRIVERS\WIN\WLANINT\Autorun.EXE and click OK.
5. Follow the instructions on the screen.
6. Restart the computer*.

 

Serial Port
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Location: UPstate NY
0 Kudos

Re: T500, clean install, Fn-F5 wifi does not work...

I don't recall how I instaled the WLAN drivers...inf or exe, probably exe since I have the Intel PRO/Set thing in my notebook.

However, I know this if I installed with the *.inf I would not get the Proset thing.

Furthermore, I discovered that the hardware switch is more than adequate for my needs rather than the Fn-F5.

 

BTW I got Fn-F5 installed and working -- turned out the first time I tried I only extracted the installer. LOL

After installing it and seeing how it works I discovered that the hardware switch works better for me.

 

Thank you, Tom