Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

T500 freezing with Windows 7

Newbie to these forums.

 

 I bought a T500 back in 2009 and it came pre-loaded with Vista. In the past few months I've since upgraded to Windows 7 64bit and have had problems with the computer freezing up, seemingly at random.It never did this with Vista, so I'm inclined to think it's a software problem rather than a hardware problem.

 

Symptoms:

-screen goes black

-computer completely non-responsive (have to force a restart by holding power button down)

-if any music was playing then the speakers get stuck on the last sound and cause a buzzing noise

 

 I think the issue might be with the drivers, but even after installing all the seemingly appropriate drivers, the problem persists. Any thoughts? I figured I'd ask here before taking it into the shop.

-

Posts: 20,904
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,259
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

1) Try to do a hdd diagnostic from the BIOS menu.

also which graphics card does your machine have? ATI switchable or Intel only?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

I've got an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 graphics card.

Just ran an hdd diagnostic from BIOS and everything checked out.
Punch Card
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎03-13-2011
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

did you do in place upgrade, or fresh install?

Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

I did a fresh/clean install. My brother got a new computer that came with Windows 7, so he gave his other copy to me. This is why I'm inclined to think there's some kind of software or driver problem.

Posts: 20,904
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,259
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

what if you switch to the intel gpu?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Do I have an intel GPU? IHow would I find out? I've checked my graphics card and it's the ATI Radeon Mobility HD 3650.

Punch Card
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎03-13-2011
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Highlighted
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Yep, all my drivers are up to day, installed Lenovo system update. I just reinstalled Windows 7 last night and less than 24 hours later I had my first freeze up.

 

I'm beginning to think this is a harddrive issue. I remember my little brother with his custom built desktop had the same problem and it turned out that the harddrive needed to be replaced. Unfortunately, I've got a solid state drive, which isn't going to be cheap to replace.

Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,530
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Belleville, Ontario Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

I have seen a few instances of SSD failing and the results are total lockup, BSOD, etc I am not sure if there is HD diagnostics you can run on them or even running HD tool on them.

Having see that the recovery on a typical HD is very high while on SSD when its failing/failed that it, you'd done. Pickup a good HD EG Momentus by Seagate and go down that road and get it working and enjoy your system. You can move it via eSATE externally if you want later or attempt the Ultrabay track.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Window 8.1 64bit FHD 17.3 inch Display, Nvidia G840 w/2GB memory