Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
Message 11 of 21 (442 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

[ Edited ]

Fortunately, ever since it started doing this, I've been extra diligent in backing up all my files on my external harddrive. So it could die on me right now and I wouldn't lose any data *knocks wood*.

 

 I'm going to go to my local computer shop and ask them about diagnostics. I'm at the point now where I'd be willing to pay to find out what the problem is. If I can pin this down to a problem with the harddrive, then I can just order a new one. Key point, pinning it down.When my little brother's computer started behaving in a similar way, the motherboard and the harddrive needed to be replaced. I figure if I need a new motherboard then the thing's as good as dead.I couldn't even find replacement motherboards on the lenovo site.

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,272
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 12 of 21 (439 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

go into your bios menu and switch the graphics card to integrated and retry.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,013
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Belleville, Ontario Canada
Message 13 of 21 (439 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

You can run memory diagnotics via the Win7 boot DVD. If it goes ok then its unlikely its the motherboard since the CPU, memory controller and various chipsets are involved.

You can search the web for HD testing OEM have their own but even doing a CHKDSK /F from the C prompt in admininistrative mode and then rebooting once acknowledged will tell you something. If it goes through without hanging thats the first stage. I saw this with a friend computer with an SSD and it turned out it died.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Window 8.1 64bit FHD 17.3 inch Display, Nvidia G840 w/2GB memory

Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
Message 14 of 21 (421 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Ok, just switched graphics hard to integrated.

 

I also ran a hard disk scan and it came up clean.

 

I'll post again if it freezes up.

Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
Message 15 of 21 (401 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Aaaaand it froze up again. So it looks like switching to integrated graphics card didn't help, and all the harddrive and memory scans I've run come up clean. This is getting frustrating.

Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,013
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Belleville, Ontario Canada
Message 16 of 21 (391 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Was it running fine without crashing under the original Vista? Seeing its not working you could put the factory image on and run PC Doctor Lenovo had in Vista. Then you'll know.

Diagnostics are only as good as the software if its cronic most anything will choke. Was the Win7 the same class 64 or 32 bit?
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Window 8.1 64bit FHD 17.3 inch Display, Nvidia G840 w/2GB memory

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 17 of 21 (387 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

I'd try an Ubuntu Live CD for a day or so and see if it happens there.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
Message 18 of 21 (373 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Well, I admit defeat. It's reached a point beyond my level of knowledge, so I'm taking it into a computer shop and let them figure out what the problem is.

 

 I thank all of you for your help. I'll let you know what the problem is once the boys at the shop figure it out.

Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Location: Canada
Message 19 of 21 (356 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

Well, the shop said it was the harddrive, so I got it replaced. But that hasn't solved the problem. Back to the shop tomorrow. *le sigh*

What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Location: Massachusetts
Message 20 of 21 (329 Views)

Re: T500 freezing with Windows 7

I have the exact same problem. I have a T500 also. I added RAM and a second hard drive. I upgraded to Windows 7 64-bit.  Now, it randomly freezes, the screen becomes solid light blue and I have to hold down the power button to shut it down. And I also get that buzzing if I'm playing music. I noticed it only happens if I'm doing something. Like, the last time it happened, I had double-clicked a video to watch it and it just froze like I described.

 

Anyway, I don't have any additional help, but perhaps the fact that we both have the same problem hints at something. For example, I'm guessing the hard drive isn't the problem here.

Top Kudoed Authors