cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
redeye0
Serial Port
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-24-2017
Location: CA
Views: 2,913
Message 1 of 17

T500 memory upgrade riddle

I am trying to upgrade to 8GB of RAM in my trusty old T500.  I bought 2x4GB G.Skill sticks that appear to be compatible in every specification.  Here is the riddle:

1) Both sticks are rejected when inserted into the lower slot.  I get a 1-3-3-1 beep every time.

 

2) One stick works in the upper slot with the original 2GB stick inserted in the lower slot.  I ran 6 passes of Memtest86+ on this configuration without seeing a single error and the computer is clearly using all 6GB of memory after booting.

 

3) The other stick will not work in the upper slot with the original 2GB stick in the lower slot and even Memtest86+ freezes with this configuration when I am able to boot at all without getting a 1-3-3-1 beep at power-on.

 

It seems clear that one of the sticks is bad.  I am at a loss as to why the other stick will work only when paired with the original stick and only in one particular configuration.  The BIOS has been updated to the lastest version, 3.23.

 

At one time, both of the new sticks would work individually when inserted in the bottom slot with nothing in the upper slot.  However, this was always inconsistent and neither one has worked in that slot since I disabled fast boot.

 

My best guess is that some setting is being read from the old 2GB stick when it is in the lower slot that also works for the one good new stick.  As to what that setting might be, however, I am completely at a loss as the specs for the new and old memory appear to be identical.

 

If the one good new stick won't work in the lower slot, replacing the bad stick won't get me up to 8GB as I seem to need that old 2GB in the bottom slot anyway.

 

Advice is appreciated.

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,894
Message 2 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

HMM: page 91

https://download.lenovo.com/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/43y6630_04.pdf

 

The bottom slot must ALWAYS have memory in it. 

The top slot is for additional memory. 

The bottom slot should contain the largest memory stick.

 

If both new memories beep in the bottom slot, an issue exists.

What are the part numbers of the new memories?

Please take a picture of each label on each stick. 

=

Download CPUZ:

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

With the old 2GB in bottom slot, post screen shots of CPUZ SPD and Memory tabs.

=

Page 98 of HMM discusses Intel Turbo Memory minicard.  Does your machine have this?

redeye0
Serial Port
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-24-2017
Location: CA
Views: 2,880
Message 3 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

Hi.  Thanks for engaging.

 

From the stickers:

Samsung: 2GB 2Rx8 PC3-8500S-07-10-F2
G.Skill: F3-8500CL7-4GBSQ


I haven't found anything for Linux as good as CPU-Z.  Not sure it's possible to get any more information than lshw anyway, which shows:

*-memory
          description: System Memory
          physical id: 2b
          slot: System board or motherboard
          size: 6GiB
        *-bank:0
             description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1066 MHz (0.9 ns)
             product: M471B5673EH1-CF8
             vendor: Samsung
             physical id: 0
             serial: 48196F66
             slot: DIMM 1
             size: 2GiB
             width: 64 bits
             clock: 1066MHz (0.9ns)
        *-bank:1
             description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1066 MHz (0.9 ns)
             product: F3-8500CL7-4GBSQ
             vendor: Fujitsu
             physical id: 1
             serial: 00000000
             slot: DIMM 2
             size: 4GiB
             width: 64 bits
             clock: 1066MHz (0.9ns)

Both brands are unbuffered but I just noticed that I-Nex (a really lightweight CPU-Z alternative for Linux) is showing 115MB of "buffers."

 

I am quite certain I do *not* have a Turbo Memory Minicard installed.  Don't see it in either lshw or I-Nex and have never even heard of it in all the years I've owned the trusty old T500.

 

Yes, it would seem that the G.Skill memory is just not compatible with the mobo.  But I would like to diagnose the compatibility issue before exchanging them, if possible, rather than any more trial and error.

 

Cheers.

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,877
Message 4 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

I do problem determination for a living, not trial and error.

I requested CPU-Z snapshots to verify birth dates of memory.

Your stated  G.skill memories show Fujitsu as birth mother.

redeye0
Serial Port
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-24-2017
Location: CA
Views: 2,875
Message 5 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

I noticed that but wasn't sure what to make of it.

I bought the sticks from a reputable store, the packaging says G.Skill, and so does the holograhic portion of the sticker that's on them.

Do you think they are mislabelled?

 

(Wasn't implying you were engaging in trial and error.  Just explaining why I am futzing around with memory that is clearly incompatible.  And by trial and error I meant exchanging and installing other memory without a diagnosis -- not this kind of troubleshooting.)

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,870
Message 6 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

Supply CPU-z snapshots. 

I do memory help all the time.

Example:

User in UAE with G50-70 got beeps. Original works, add new fail.

ORIG, from 2012, was version B.

New was  ? version A.

Vendor, Hynix, discontinued version A in 2015. 

I showed user Amazon USA still selling version A.

Bottom line, user memory new is DOA, manufacture, prolly 2008?  Before his machine ever offered for sale via lenovo.

You have the same issue, but I need screenshots from  CPU-z.. 

redeye0
Serial Port
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-24-2017
Location: CA
Views: 2,854
Message 7 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

Can't run CPU-Z unfortunately.  The T500 is running Linux and the memory is incompatible with my Windows box.  The best I can do at the moment is to add some output from dmidecode:

 

Memory Module Information
	Socket Designation: DIMM Slot 1
	Bank Connections: 0 1
	Current Speed: 42 ns
	Type: DIMM SDRAM
	Installed Size: 2048 MB (Double-bank Connection)
	Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Double-bank Connection)
	Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0009, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
	Socket Designation: DIMM Slot 2
	Bank Connections: 2 3
	Current Speed: 42 ns
	Type: DIMM SDRAM
	Installed Size: 4096 MB (Double-bank Connection)
	Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Double-bank Connection)
	Error Status: OK

Handle 0x002B, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
	Location: System Board Or Motherboard
	Use: System Memory
	Error Correction Type: None
	Maximum Capacity: 8 GB
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Number Of Devices: 2

Handle 0x002C, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x002B
	Error Information Handle: No Error
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 2048 MB
	Form Factor: SODIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM 1
	Bank Locator: Bank 0/1
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous
	Speed: 1066 MHz
	Manufacturer: 80CE            
	Serial Number: 48196F66        
	Asset Tag: 0905
	Part Number: M471B5673EH1-CF8  

Handle 0x002D, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x002B
	Error Information Handle: No Error
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 4096 MB
	Form Factor: SODIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM 2
	Bank Locator: Bank 2/3
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous
	Speed: 1066 MHz
	Manufacturer: 04CD            
	Serial Number: 00000000        
	Asset Tag: 0000
	Part Number: F3-8500CL7-4GBSQ

The Part Number for the 4GB "G.Skill" is the same as what's on the sticker.

 

I appreciate your help.

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,826
Message 8 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

Your new memory sticks are indeed G.Skill and match your machines memory spec. 

Passmark tested this memory July 2015.

https://www.memorybenchmark.net/ram.php?ram=G+Skill+Intl+F3-8500CL7-4GBSQ+4GB&id=180 

 

Your OEM Samsung memory:

https://www.memorybenchmark.net/ram.php?ram=Samsung+M471B5673EH1-CF8+2GB&id=63

 

[edit] There is a difference in the CAS tick marks between Samsung and G.skill. 

Usually this is not a issue.

 

Your best bet is to return to seller and try a different brand. I always use Crucial memory.

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for//thinkpad-t500-series

 

Crucial states 1.35V memory... but they often sell dual voltage memory.  

[edit].  Your new memory is probably defective as you have suspected.

 

I cannot verify "birthdate" of memory in your DMIdecode output vs CPUZ.

Specs from PSREF for your machine. See post below for PSREF.

Memory
1GB PC3-8500 DDR3 Low-Halogen SODIMM 55Y3706 ann 06/23/09
2GB PC3-8500 DDR3 Low-Halogen SODIMM 55Y3707 ann 06/23/09
4GB PC3-8500 DDR3 Low-Halogen SODIMM 55Y3708 ann 06/23/09

 

redeye0
Serial Port
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-24-2017
Location: CA
Views: 2,823
Message 9 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

Thanks so much for your efforts. Truly appreciated. Also, I learned a lot -- which is always good. Smiley Happy
sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,811
Message 10 of 17

Re: T500 memory upgrade riddle

Update us how any new memory purchases work inside your machine. 8GB sounds great.  

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors