Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-25-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

T500 x4500 extrenal monitor resolutions

Just ordered a new T500 with the built in gfx intel gma x4500 and am looking to order an external monitor that runs natively at 1920 x 1080. Just wondering if the x4500 supports that resolution adn if anyone has any experience with this resolution setup? Any help much appreciated Smiley Happy
Retired Guru
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan

Re: T500 x4500 extrenal monitor resolutions

Hi ibegtodiffer,

 

Welcome to the forums.

 

I run 1920x1200 with the Intel gma x4500mhd in my T500, currently with DisplayPort to DVI cable. The DVI-D output on the Advanced Mini Dock also works from within Linux, but does not display the ThinkPad boot screen on my monitor. That may be fixed with a future BIOS upgrade (I hope :-)). Anyway, I don't imagine that 1920x1080 will present a problem.

 

Enjoy your new ThinkPad and monitor :-)

---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. Smiley Happy
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-25-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 x4500 extrenal monitor resolutions

that's great to hear thanks. I'm still a little worried specifically about the x 1080 resolution as I know it's a slightly newer standard.
Posts: 433
Kudos: 62
Solutions: 14
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Location: Sweden
0 Kudos

Re: T500 x4500 extrenal monitor resolutions

[ Edited ]

Why do you want an external monitor with a different screen ratio than your T500?

 

When I bought my T500 I was tired of switching resolutions and getting my desktop messed up whenever docking and undocking so bought an external monitor (Thinkvision 22" ) with the same native resolution 1680x1050 as the T500.

Message Edited by zilla on 2009-05-26 09:40 AM

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Highlighted
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-25-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: T500 x4500 extrenal monitor resolutions

I want a different resolution because I opted for the LED screen that runs natively at ~1200x800 but obviously this is not high enough res for a 22-24inch monitor Smiley Happy
Retired Guru
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan
0 Kudos

Re: T500 x4500 extrenal monitor resolutions

I think you'll be ok. In this thread it appears that at least one person got 1920x1080 working using T400 (same video card) and Intel graphics. You may have some problems with underscan/overscan depending on your monitor (mostly a problem with HDTVs though).
---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. Smiley Happy