cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
tones
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-15-2016
Location: CH
Views: 4,577
Message 1 of 15

T510 and Windows 10

I am a computer ignoramus, whose knowledge of computers extends to switching the thing on and off unaided. I bought this T510 some years ago (Windows 7 Professional 64-bit) and it worked perfectly satisfactorily, until I made what appears to have been a fundamental error - I "upgraded" to Windows 10. "Degraded" would be a better word. The thing now takes ages to react to anything. It is just soooo slow that it has acquired the usefulness of a chocolate teapot. I can't see any posts relating to this particular subject on the forum, although I see members saying that 10 works fine on their T510s. What am I doing wrong? Or is it just my incompetence that's letting down the side?

Guru
Posts: 577
Registered: ‎12-30-2017
Location: PL
Views: 4,563
Message 2 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

Probably your hard drive is at the end of life. Please download CrystalDiskInfo and provide SMART properties.

https://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDiskInfo/index-e.html

 

Moreover it's also possible, that you have only single memory module or insufficient memory capacity. You can check it using HWiNFO:

https://www.hwinfo.com/

------
...
tones
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-15-2016
Location: CH
Views: 4,560
Message 3 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

Thank you! I'll try those and report back - provided I can get the thing to behave, that is!
tones
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-15-2016
Location: CH
Views: 4,541
Message 4 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

Hello, Kasperas,
I downloaded both of those and, if I read the results correctly, both appear to give the computer a clean bill of health. Curiously, the computer now seems to have speeded up! Perhaps it got the hint, or noticed the large axe I was sharpening in the corner... Anyway, I'll see if things improve, but many thanks for a possible solution - whatever it was!
Guru
Posts: 577
Registered: ‎12-30-2017
Location: PL
Views: 4,538
Message 5 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

Well, there wasn't any solution, to be honest... Could you please provide these data anyway? I believe, the issue will be back soon...

------
...
tones
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-15-2016
Location: CH
Views: 4,501
Message 6 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

Hmm, you appear to be right - it's back to being as slow as a wet week. Here are the results. Perhaps I should go back to Windows 7?

Guru
Posts: 577
Registered: ‎12-30-2017
Location: PL
Views: 4,492
Message 7 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

I see two problems:

- Your HDD disk should be replaced as you have pretty slow model (5400rpm/8MB cache), which probably have some wear level. SMART don't shows all problems - especially performance issues. I would advise replacing it with SSD, e.g. Samsung 850 EVO 250GB and install Windows 10 on it. Regarding old disk, you can buy a caddy/Ultrabay adapter and install it instead of DVD drive.

- You have only 4GB RAM. Please do note, that your integrated GPU doesn't have it's own memory. Instead, it can allocate up to 1.5GB - 2GB RAM, so effectively only 2GB is left for your OS. Opening many apps or simply tabs in web browser could allocate all available RAM. When this happen, OS starts to utilize HDD as a virtual memory. This severly impacts OS perfromance, especially on slow HDDs. Increasing memory to 8GB should improve the situtation (it's maximum supported by i5-480M).

------
...
tones
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-15-2016
Location: CH
Views: 4,487
Message 8 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

Many thanks, much appreciated! I shall look into those possibilities.

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 4,465
Message 9 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

The stop-gap solution would be to defragment the drive regularly until you do upgrade.

Likewise, look into disabling some Windows services that provide features you don't use:
http://www.blackviper.com/service-configurations/black-vipers-windows-10-service-configurations/

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
tones
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-15-2016
Location: CH
Views: 4,419
Message 10 of 15

Re: T510 and Windows 10

So I started with replacing the RAM under the base with the type you suggested (there's another under the keyboard, which I left in place) - and promptly moved on to another category of problem, from the computer that works slowly to the computer that doesn't work at all! I am confronted with the dreaded Windows 10 BSOD, with the peculiar message "STOP CODE: IRQL nmot less or equal". I have absolutely no idea what that means. What have I done wrong?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors