cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
bejj
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Location: France
Views: 15,553
Message 1 of 11

T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

Hello,

 

I recently discovered that my T520 has a SIM card slot (inside the battery slot)  Smiley Happy

 

I tried to put my cell phone SIM card in it, but there's no reaction (no "New device connected" popup dialog).

 

What should I do ?

 

Is there a driver + software that needs to be installed ?

Which one?

 

Thanks in advance!

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,712
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 15,534
Message 2 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

Your T520 must have the appropriate WWAN hardware (radio card and antenna) in order to function. Otherwise the SIM slot is just a dummy slot. Do you know if you have this hardware installed? 

 

What is the model number of your T520, something like 4239-46U

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
bejj
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Location: France
Views: 15,518
Message 3 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

Hello, thanks for your answer.

 

I don't know if I have this hardware installed or not (WWAN)...

 

My T520 is a 4246-A32 . Do you have an idea ?

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,712
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 15,502
Message 4 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

I can't seem to find any information on the 4246-A32 model. Another way to determine if you have the WWAN hardware is to open up the unit and see if the appropriate board is installed.

 

The Hardware Maintenance Manual - ThinkPad T520, T520i, W520 gives detailed instructions on how to do this.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
bejj
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Location: France
Views: 15,483
Message 5 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

Hi hausman,

 

Thanks for your answer and for the informations.

 

But I don't want to have to remove the keyboard and DIMM slot, just to know if I have WWAN or not...

 

Don't you think there is another way for knowing if I can use SIM card or not ?

 

Thanks in advance...

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: AU
Views: 15,474
Message 6 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?


bejj wrote:

 

I don't know if I have this hardware installed or not (WWAN)...

 

My T520 is a 4246-A32 . Do you have an idea ?


 

4246-A32

 

i5-2520M(2.5GHz), 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HD, 15.6in 1366x768 LCD, Intel HD Graphics 3000, CDRW/DVDRW, Intel 802.11agn wireless, Bluetooth, 1Gb Ethernet, UltraNav, Secure Chip, Camera, 6c Li-Ion, Win7 Home Premium 64

 

No WWAN card.

 

Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
bejj
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Location: France
Views: 15,461
Message 7 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

Hi bill,

 

Where do you find such information (about each model number...) ?

 

Thanks a lot for your answer.

 

Cheers, bejj

 

ps : 4246-A32 : no Bluetooth as well ?

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,712
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 15,446
Message 8 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

> Where do you find such information (about each model number...) ?

 

The usual sources are http://www.lenovo.com/psref/ and http://www.lenovo.com/psref/we/ but I couldn't find a listing for the 4246-A32. A Google search didn't come up with anything either.

 

> ps : 4246-A32 : no Bluetooth as well ?

 

Bill's configuration above indicates that Bluetooth is included.


 

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
bejj
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Location: France
Views: 15,441
Message 9 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?

Thanks for your answer!

 

Oh so I do have Bluetooth ? Amazing !

Why doesn't it work ?

 

I have tried to install the Bluetooth driver in the past, but the driver setup said "no device found".

 

PS : i have enabled Bluetooth in BIOS.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,767
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 15,432
Message 10 of 11

Re: T520 How to use SIM card slot ?


@bejj wrote:
...

Where do you find such information (about each model number...) ?

...

Bill probably got that info by going to SUPPORT (above) and entering "4246-A32" in QuickPath (on the right).

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors