Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-26-2009
Location: S. Cal.
0 Kudos

Re: T520 availability with Quad Core Processor, Optimus and FHD display, or get a W520?

My sales droid at Lenovo, says to be patient til the 29th, this weekend.  At least for US customers.  Apparently that is when the better equipped T520's will appear here.

 

I appreciate your summary of your research.  I sit here with the reference pdf copied and annotated by my desk but am still waiting for the better T520's and the W520 to be up on the site so I can be certain of the price difference.

 

For instance it appears that a very well equipped (FHD, good graphics, 2720qm chip, etc) W520 in the 4276 code will be about the same cost as a well equipped T520.  But the same equipment or very nearly the same in a W520 with a 4282 or 4284 code are about $800 US more.  And I can't yet reconcile the differences.

 

We shall see very soon.

 

BTW, the quad core I7 2720QM T520 was up on the US website for about 4 hours last Friday, but without switchable graphics.  I tried to order it and got a message in my Cart that it was not a proper config.  That is when I contacted Lenovo and was told to wait til the 29th.

 

Perry

 

Perry

Perry
W520, I7 2720QM, M4 512 GB SSD OS/Program Disk, C300 256 GB Data Disk in Ultrabay Caddy; X220, I7 2620, Samsung 256 GB SSD, Intel 310 mSata Drv, T61, ancient but working, Asus MoBo, I7 2600k overclocked
Serial Port
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
Location: Milwaukee Wisconsin USA
0 Kudos

Re: T520 availability with Quad Core Processor, Optimus and FHD display, or get a W520?

Q-Ball

 

As the man standing in the railroad tunnel said as the train approached him...  I see the light

 

Since the i7-2620M dual core, clocks at 2.70GHz (gigaflops),
when it is handling a single thread of instructions, it will complete the task quicker than a i7-2920XM quad core Xtreme clocked at 2.50GHz.

 

Because hyperthreading allows the 2nd generation Intel dual core processor to handle two threads per core, a 2nd generation dual core processor can be concurrrently working on up to 4 threads at a time.

 

I expect that during system boot, hibernate and resume, Windows 7 presents quite a few threads for processing, and a Quad core can crunch up to 8 threads to completion, quickly. 

 

On the other hand when I am doing a rebuild of a single database file, that job probably only presents one thread, and processor clock speed becomes the key factor in when the job completes.

 

------
Nik

 

That German T520 4243-3UG model, is pretty much what I am looking for, I guess its time to relax and wait.  Or, start learning Deutsche so I can read that keyboard!

 

-------
Perry,

 

Thanks for the reinforcement on the wait a week until March 29th message.

I cannot explain the difference in price between a
W520 4276-37U $1628
 and
W520 4282-3SU $2404

 

Thanks again,

 

Dave 

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
W520 4276-2QU i7-2720QM quad core, 4GBx1, FHD(1920x1080), NVIDIA Quadro 2000M, 500GB-7200, 6205WiFi, 720pCamera, Bluetooth, vPro, 57++9cell, 27++9cellSlice, Win7Pro64
IBM R50 WinXP for backup.
Highlighted
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2011
Location: MPLS, MN, UsA, EarTh
0 Kudos

Re: T520 availability with Quad Core Processor, Optimus and FHD display, or get a W520?

I thought I would update this thread.

 

I am running a T520 (November 2011 ship-date) with 16 GB.  I run mine strictly with Discrete Graphics with Fedora 16 x64 and Windows 7 Pro (that it shipped with).  It has been running for a week now and I have not noticed any issue(s) thus far.

 

[root@neo ~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo | tail -25

processor: 7

vendor_id: GenuineIntel

cpu family: 6

model: 42

model name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2760QM CPU @ 2.40GHz