English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

12-12-2012

US

18 Signins

113 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 113
  • Message 1 of 11

T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 12:51 PM

The CPU of my T530 is i7-3720QM

Add recently I added two 8GB DDR3 1600 dims into my laptop

But sometimes it crashes into blue screen right after bios is booted up and Windows is booting(Win 7 x64 u sp1)

 

There are two types of error code from the info of Blue screen

1. Memory_Management

2. pfn_list corrupt

 

 

Seems it is memory related, I tried to remove one of the DIMM, the blue screen never happens

(I tried to remove one and keep one running for a whole day, and then install it back and remove another one)

 

And then I tried both the bios build-in memory test app and some 3rd mem test tools (memtest, aida64), but none of them claims any problems of my laptop with those 16gb memory

 

So I  guess the two pieces of memory may not working together well, but except that, is there any other potential root cause?

 

CPU-Z info

=====Memory===========

Type: DDR3
Channels #: Dual

Size: 16384 MBytes

 

DRAM Frequency: 799.0 MHz

FSB:smileyvery-happy:RAM: 1:6

CAS# Latency (CL): 10.0 clocks

RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD): 10 clocks

RAS# Prechrage (tRP): 10 clocks

Cycle Time (tRAS): 27 clocks

Command Rate(CR): 1T

============SPD=============(Two slots are  same)

Max bandwidth PC3-12800J(800MHz)

Manufacture: Corsair

Part Number:CMSX8GX3M1A1600C10

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 14:38 PM

You need a matched set of DDR3. As speed increases the requirement of a match pair become more crucial. Also all makes are NOT compatible with the system. Some will work and other crash the system.

Getting a match pair from a reputable OEM is best and the only solutions. Over time you'll end up corrupting data on the HD.

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

2483 Posts

04-08-2011

US

5471 Signins

46460 Page Views

  • Posts: 2483
  • Registered: ‎04-08-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 46460
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 15:48 PM

He said he added two sticks.  I assume he means a matched pair. He is also using a reputable maker and supplied the exact part number for the Corsair sticks which can be found easily at http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233264

 

In theory, those sticks should be just fine.

Reply
Options

7 Posts

12-12-2012

US

18 Signins

113 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 113
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 16:23 PM

Yep, those are a pair of Corsair CMSX8GX3M1A1600C10...

The only different I can found from my original hynix HMT351S6CFR8C datasheet is the hy's Cas is 11 clocks while the Corsair is 10 clocks.

 

I am not sure whether this difference will bring that huge impaction...

 

Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 16:23 PM
@Thor

I misread that. The modules are not optimal for the hardware requirements. I would contact them (Corsair) for an alternate pair. Many times memory OEM make the best guess based on spec'd for various systems They don't do in depth testing to certify 100% compatibility as is the case here otherwise it would work. There is a lot going on under the hood so to speak and merely looking at the speed and timing info is knowhere near enough.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

21 Posts

12-06-2012

Wenatchee WA USA

58 Signins

329 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2012
  • Location: Wenatchee WA USA
  • Views: 329
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 16:43 PM

Okay... this is of particular interest to me, as I purchased a T530 a few weeks ago with the 'stock'  4GB of RAM, fully intending to upgrade to 16GB after the holidays.  Hearing that its not as simple as purchasing two 8GB sticks of DDR3 1600 memory is a little worrisome.

 

Are there any known-good brands/suppliers out there?  I don't mind paying a little extra for trouble-free experience, but one place I was looking at was padding the bill to the tune of >$1000 to upgrade from 4 to 16GB when initially shopping for a T530...

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 17:01 PM
Corsair RAM and Kingston value ram sometimes can produce errors in ThinkPad. Try some other brands like Samsung, Hynix, etc.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 17:06 PM
I know from years of sale/support that Kingston Value Ram is Generic class compatible. They have a product series of a different part # which are far more certain. Crucial may be another option to look at. I used G-skill once in this systems without issues paired against an OEM module. I am now running a OEM pair though now.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

21 Posts

12-06-2012

Wenatchee WA USA

58 Signins

329 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2012
  • Location: Wenatchee WA USA
  • Views: 329
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 17:25 PM

So for 'OEM' stuff this is what you'd recommend?

 

Lenovo 8GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SODIMM Memory (1600MHz)

 

...x2 of course.  That is a bit more spendy (like double) what I've seen comparable amounts of RAM from Newegg.com, etc. but looking at the specs listed for those items like voltage, latency, CAS, etc. and seeing how they vary ever so slightly from one brand/model to the next... I think I might stick with the OEM stuff after all ;)

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: T530 sometimes blue screen after upgraded to 16gb memory

2012-12-24, 17:26 PM
it doesn't have to be OEM, but try to avoid the Corsair and Kingston Value Range if you can.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete