English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

08-02-2019

DE

12 Signins

112 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2019
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 112
  • Message 1 of 3

T580 BIOS Update 1.22 breaks Thunderbolt

2019-08-02, 12:30 PM

Hi all,

 

I have a Thinkpad T580 and a Thunderbolt 3 Dock Gen2. It worked fine until now.

I updated the Dock Firmware, and everything worked. I updated the BIOS from 1.21 to 1.22, and Thunderbolt is not working anymore.

 

Were I work we have many Lenovo Laptops and Docks. I tried another Dock, but the thunderbolt software does not show a connected device.

 

I reflashed the 1.21 BIOS version, but thunderbolt stays broken. How could that happen?

I even set the Thunderbolt Security to "no Security" in BIOS, thinking it might have broke security, but no, does not work.

 

When I plug it into USB-C it works, of course. But this way I only have 10GBit/s for everything, not 40Gbit/s like with Thunderbolt. That means not all of my monitors do work and bandwidth is limited.

 

Any ideas how to remedy the situation?

 

Best,

 

maybeapreacher

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

6639 Posts

10-29-2009

NC

17701 Signins

163127 Page Views

  • Posts: 6639
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 163127
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: T580 BIOS Update 1.22 breaks Thunderbolt

2019-08-02, 15:30 PM

Sorry for this trouble.  I checked with our service team and we haven't heard this issue.  Can you please shutdown the T580 and use a paperclip to press the emergency reset button?  It's on the bottom of the laptop near the screw that is closest to the center.  Sometimes this can clear up random thunderbolt problems.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

6 Posts

08-02-2019

DE

12 Signins

112 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2019
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 112
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: T580 BIOS Update 1.22 breaks Thunderbolt

2019-08-05, 6:40 AM

Hi,

 

this seems to have helped, I now have thunderbolt again and it works through reboots.

(I got it running one time before, but after a reboot, it was gone again. Now it seems to stay active.)

 

Thanks for the hint.

 

Best,

 

maybeageek

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms