cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Steddyeddy
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Location: GB
Views: 1,903
Message 1 of 12

Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Ragarding my Thinkpad T510 laptop. Windows 10 (64-bit) installed with 8gb. However, it will only allow 2.93gig RAM to be used. Have tried all mannaer of attempts to cure. When I uncheck "maximum memory" on "Boot advanced options" it defaults back to "0" maximum memory after re-boot and will not save as 8096mb RAM. Have tried other fixes via command prompt, but all to no avail. Anyone any ideas how I can get my 5.07gig RAm back in use????Capture3.PNGmemory 1.JPGmemory 2.JPGmemory3.JPGadvanced boot.JPG

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,838
Message 2 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

That's odd; usually you only see 2.9GB available if you're running a 32-bit Windows, whereas your System Properties page clearly shows 64-bit.

Does your T510 have Intel graphics or NVIDIA graphics?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Steddyeddy
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Location: GB
Views: 1,835
Message 3 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Many thanks for the reply. I have Intel(R) HD Graphics, although I have just noticed "Pen and Touch - Touch support with 2 Touch Points" which I confess means absolutely nothing to me!

 

Regards
Ed

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,828
Message 4 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Out of curiosity, what if you uninstall the graphics driver and reboot? Does it allow Windows to use the full 8GB of RAM?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Steddyeddy
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Location: GB
Views: 1,827
Message 5 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

I'll perhaps give that a go. It's about the only thing I haven't triewd thus far. Many thanks.

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 1,805
Message 6 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Could you provide a CPUz screenshot of the other 4GB stick?

How long have you been on windows 10?

How long have both 4GB sticks been in your machine?

You seem to indicate both 4GB sticks in your machine a while, and recently the amount of usable ram has gone below 4GB.

Also go into task manager, performance tab, memory and provide a screenshot. 

 

What is your full model number, ie 4349-2PU?  A 4349-2PU has I7-620m and Intel HD graphics. The Intel HD graphics would have to use some of your Ram. 

Check device manager for the Intel HD graphics, properties, adapter and see how much ram is allocated. [Someone else can verify this is where to find the value. It might be a setting in the BIOS].

 

Have you used any 2GB sticks in your machine lately?

Use system properties to check virtual memory.  Is it system managed or custom size?

Steddyeddy
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Location: GB
Views: 1,783
Message 7 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Thank you for such a detailed reply Mr Sclexman. Almost too much for me to take in really :-)

I've only had the machine, a manufacture refurb, for a year. It's always had Windows 10 from when I purchased it. Original RAM sticks in which I have taken out and then reseated. Intel HD graphics on board. No 2GB sticks used at all. Virtual memory is currently system-managed. I did chane to manual but it made no difference.memory performance.JPG

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,432
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 1,780
Message 8 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Make sure you have the latest BIOS.  Boot into BIOS and hit F9 to load defaults.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Steddyeddy
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-16-2017
Location: GB
Views: 1,744
Message 9 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Many thanks Rich - yes have tried that and there does not seem to be a BIOS update beyond 2010 which I find strange given the machine is a solid state drive i7
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,432
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 1,724
Message 10 of 12

Re: Thinkpad T510 laptop RAM issue - 8gig installed only 2.93gig usable

Before you do anything serious, I suggest you back up all your personal files.  Read this, which talks about SFC and DISM (if SFC alone doesn't help)

 

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/wiki/windows_10-update/system-file-check-sfc-scan-and-re...

 


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors